Watch DEEP PURPLE's IAN GILLAN Peform 'Hang Me Out To Dry' From 'Contractual Obligation'

Watch DEEP PURPLE's IAN GILLAN Peform 'Hang Me Out To Dry' From 'Contractual Obligation'

A performance clip of the song "Hang Me Out To Dry" from Ian Gillan's upcoming album "Contractual Obligation" can be seen below.

Gillan, together with Robert Plant, Ozzy Osbourne and a few others, is considered one of the legendary voices that shaped hard rock. Despite his commitment to DEEP PURPLE, the singer has built an impressive solo career. "Contractual Obligation" is a collection of performances during a recent tour through Eastern Europe containing three shows which will be released on different formats via earMUSIC on July 26.

Still fresh from the success of the studio album "NOW What?!", and just a few months before the release of the latest and equally successful album "inFinite", Ian Gillan accepted the offer to tour for a month in Eastern Europe with a full rock show, accompanied every night by a different local orchestra. Gillan decided to recruit the DON AIREY BAND, which features the guitar talent of Simon McBride.

All shows were truly unique, with Airey and McBride delivering perfect performances night after night. DEEP PURPLE material (including rarities like "Razzle Dazzle" or "Anya") went hand in hand with Gillan solo songs and surprises for those into the deepest catalog.

The title is a humorous reference to Gillan's notorious reticence to pay any attention to his own or DEEP PURPLE live releases (as he explains in the album liner notes). This live album and video might well be one of the nicest chapters in Gillan's solo production ever and a reminder about how great his solo music and concerts have been over the years.

Curiosity: The last DEEP PURPLE album was named "Infinity" (which later turned into "inFinite") during the afternoon preceding the Warsaw show that ended up being immortalized for its CD release.


01. Hang Me Out To Dry
02. Pictures Of Home
03. No Lotion For That
04. Strange Kind Of Woman
05. Razzle Dazzle
06. A Day Late 'N' A Dollar Short
07. Lazy
08. Rapture Of The Deep
09. When A Blind Man Cries


01. You're Gonna Ruin Me Baby (with Grace Gillan)
02. Ain't No More Cane On The Brazos
03. Difficult To Cure (Beethoven's Ninth)
04. Anya
05. Perfect Strangers
06. Hell To Pay
07. Demon's Eye
08. Smoke On The Water
09. Hush
10. Black Night


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).