Watch Official Video For CHICKENFOOT's First New Song In Five Years, 'Divine Termination'

February 14, 2017

Supergroup CHICKENFOOT will release "Divine Termination", its first new tune in five years on "Best + Live", the band's first-ever best-of collection, on March 10. CHICKENFOOT features legendary guitarist Joe Satriani, former VAN HALEN singer Sammy Hagar, ex-VAN HALEN bassist Michael Anthony and RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS drummer Chad Smith.

You can now watch the official music video for "Divine Termination" below.

In addition to "Divine Termination", "Best + Live" includes over 90 minutes of live music for the first time released on CD. Hagar says: "Listening to this collection of songs from the 'FOOT brings back memories of some of the most fun I've ever had in a band. The chemistry between Chad, Joe, Mike and me is very special. It's almost like visual music — you can see us having fun when you listen to these songs."

In May 2016, CHICKENFOOT reunited for two highly-anticipated one-time shows at Harrah's Lake Tahoe, and played their first complete set in more than six years, along with a special unveiling of the new tune "Divine Termination". Satriani describes the track as "bone-crunching, hell-raising rock, dripping with attitude and vibe. Just the way CHICKENFOOT likes it!"

Both the extra CD "Live" and the bonus tracks on the best of feature a 13-song strong setlist, including almost every song from CHICKENFOOT's debut album as well as Hagar's old MONTROSE classic "Bad Motor Scooter", THE WHO's "My Generation" and Satriani's interpretation of "The Star-Spangled Banner" — all recorded live in Phoenix 2009 and available for the first time on CD (previously only available as video on the DVD/Blu-ray "Get Your Buzz On").

"Best + Live" track listing:

CD1 – Best Of

01. Divine Termination (brand new song)
02. Soap On A Rope
03. Sexy Little Thing
04. Oh Yeah
05. Get It Up
06. Future In The Past
07. Big Foot
08. Different Devil
09. Lighten Up
10. Dubai Blues
11. Something Going Wrong

Bonus Live Tracks:

12. Highway Star
13. Bad Motor Scooter
14. My Generation

CD2 - Live

01. Avenida Revolution
02. Sexy Little Thing
03. Soap On A Rope
04. My Kinda Girl
05. Down The Drain
06. Bitten By The Wolf
07. Oh Yeah
08. Learning To Fall
09. Get It Up
10. Turnin' Left
11. Future In The Past

CHICKENFOOT has not made a new CD in five years but returned to the studio to record "Divine Termination".

"I wrote the lyrics while on an airplane to Cabo," Hagar told Rolling Stone about the song. "It's a dark tune, but it's fucking cool. It's a really raw production and a giant step for the 'FOOT."

Satriani told The Oakland Press that he is not holding his breath for a new album from CHICKENFOOT. "It'll always be upsetting to me, the fact [the band] is under-realized," Satriani said. "That befuddles me still. However, the other guys do have plenty of things to do, and I suppose maybe I get it. But when I think about it from an artistic point of view, it just seems ridiculous that we didn't do more. It just seems completely wrong."

CHICKENFOOT reissued its gold-selling 2009 self-titled debut as a double-disc set. The new version features bonus live tracks recorded on the group's tour behind its sophomore studio effort, "III".

CHICKENFOOT's most recent touring lineup included legendary drummer/musician Kenny Aronoff, who was filling in for Smith while Chad was on the road with RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS.

"III" sold 42,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to land at position No. 9 on The Billboard 200 chart. The band's self-titled debut opened with 49,000 units back in June 2009 to debut at No. 6.


Find more on Chickenfoot
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email