Watch SLASH And DUFF MCKAGAN In The Studio With CHERIE CURRIE: 'Blvds Of Splendor' Behind-The-Scenes Video Part 3

April 21, 2020

The third in a series of webisodes featuring behind-the-scenes footage from the making of "Blvds Of Splendor", the latest solo project from 1970s icon and ex-THE RUNAWAYS singer Cherie Currie, can be seen below. Due on April 28 as a digital release via Blackheart Records, the LP features guest collaborations with Billy Corgan of SMASHING PUMPKINS, Slash and Duff McKagan from GUNS N' ROSES, as well as Juliette Lewis, Brody Dalle, THE VERONICAS and ex-GUNS N' ROSES and VELVET REVOLVER drummer Matt Sorum, who also produced the set.

Matt says: "Cherie's voice tells it all. She is the real deal. And now, more than ever, that voice tells the story of where's she's been in her life. This record is about who Cherie Currie is now.

"We've waited a long time to hear this icon of rock 'n' roll do what she does best. I'm very proud to be a part of this album by one of the best female singers of all time."

"Blvds Of Splendor" has been a labor of love as Cherie and Matt originally began work on it back in 2010 when Cherie was promoting "The Runaways" movie (currently streaming on Netflix) which stars Dakota Fanning as Cherie and Kristen Stewart as Joan Jett. The tracks languished in the vaults for years while Cherie went back to work on her chainsaw carvings and did other studio work for 2015's "Reverie" release, which features some of the last works of legendary RUNAWAYS manager/producer Kim Fowley.

In 2016, Cherie was set to release "Blvds Of Splendor" when she had a near-death accident while chainsaw carving falling over 12 feet to the ground off of a hilltop scaffolding. The accident left Cherie with partial facial paralysis and severe head trauma for over 10 months. After her recovery, she met and went in the studio with FANNY drummer and vocalist Brie Darling and in 2019 they released their critically acclaimed "The Motivator" album via Blue Elan Records. Cherie is back to chainsaw carving again and is ready to finally release "Blvds Of Splendor".

"I've never had so much fun making a record before," she said. "We all looked at each other and went, 'Oh my God, there's magic happening here.'"

"Blvds Of Splendor" was released on 180-gram translucent red vinyl for Record Store Day in 2019 with a limited run of 3000 copies. This will be the first time the album is available worldwide digitally for the fans. The digital release features three bonus tracks (including a remake of THE RUNAWAYS classic "Queens Of Noise" featuring Brody Dalle, THE VERONICAS, Juliette Lewis and Matt Sorum paying homage to late RUNAWAYS drummer Sandy West) that were not included on the Record Store Day vinyl release. "Queens Of Noise" will be offered as an instant-grat track when you pre-order the album.

"Blvds Of Splendor" track listing:

01. Mr. X
02. Roxy Roller
03. You Wreck Me
04. Black Magic
05. Blvds Of Splendor
06. Force To Be Reckoned With
07. Bad And Broken
08. Rock & Roll Oblivion
09. Shades
10. Draggin' The Line
11. Breakout
12. The Air That I Breathe
13. What Do All the People Know? (bonus track)
14. Gimme (bonus track)
15. Queens Of Noise (bonus track)

Album cover photo credit: Robert Sebree

Find more on Guns n' roses
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).