WEEZER Announces 'OK Human' Album

January 21, 2021

Los Angeles, California's WEEZER will release its fourteenth studio album, titled "OK Human", on Friday, January 29 via Crush Music/Atlantic. The LP's first single, "All My Favorite Songs", can be heard below.

For anyone keeping score at home: 2020 was going to be the year of "Van Weezer" — the big riffs rock album WEEZER made as an homage to the metal bands they loved growing up — until, thanks to the global pandemic, it suddenly wasn't. The entire time, however, WEEZER frontman Rivers Cuomo was busy at the piano, writing a very different album that took inspiration from another vital musical touchstone of his youth: THE BEACH BOYS' "Pet Sounds". Throughout the summer of COVID-19, he and the band — along with a 38-piece orchestra — chipped away at masked recording sessions using all analogue technology until the record was complete. The result is an album called "OK Human" — a cheeky nod to RADIOHEAD's technophobic future-trip "OK Computer", but sounding nothing at all like that record.

Taking the listener bit by bit through parts of Cuomo's every day, it's a Technicolor symphonic spree that meditates on how over-and-under-connected we all are, particularly in a year where we can see each other with greater ease, but can't be physically near each other at all. In addition to it being the first time WEEZER have ever featured full orchestration on any of their records, "OK Human" is also packed to the brim with some of the best, most personal songs Cuomo has written in the last decade, all of which shine brighter and bolder with splashes of string and horn arrangements courtesy of album producer Jake Sinclair and arranger Rob Mathes. While showcasing Cuomo's impeccable songwriting skills, "OK Human" also has shades of beloved albums of yore — not just "Pet Sounds", but Harry Nilsson's "Nilsson Schmilsson"; Randy Newman's self-titled debut; the stacked harmonies of THE CARPENTERS' records; even tints of Francoise Hardy's "Message Personnel". It is possibly the only record ever created that waxes poetic on themes of loneliness, disconnection, and reaching middle age alongside references to Mrs. Dalloway, Blackpink, the La Brea Tar Pits, Audible, and vegetarian Indian takeout, among others.

It's hard to imagine any other band who came up in the alt haze of the '90s creating a simply perfect orchestral pop album, but that is exactly what WEEZER's done; "OK Human" is a testament to the excellent, enduring melodies Cuomo has written since WEEZER's inception, and the ones he continues to write today.

"OK Human" track listing:

01. All My Favorite Songs
02. Aloo Gobi
03. Grapes Of Wrath
04. Numbers
05. Playing My Piano
06. Mirror Image
07. Screens
08. Bird With A Broken Wing
09. Dead Roses
10. Everything Happens For A Reason
11. Here Comes The Rain
12. La Brea Tar Pits

WEEZER is Brian Bell (backing vocals, guitar),Rivers Cuomo (vocals, guitar, piano),Scott Shriner (backing vocals, bass) and Pat Wilson (drums).

WEEZER will be touring this summer as part of the rescheduled "Hella Mega" tour alongside GREEN DAY and FALL OUT BOY.

Find more on Weezer
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).