WEST BOUND Feat. CHAS WEST And ROY Z: Making Of 'Volume I' Album (Video)

January 7, 2019

Behind-the-scenes footage from the making of "Volume I", the debut album from WEST BOUND, hard-hitting new Los Angeles-area rock band featuring vocalist Chas West (RESURRECTION KINGS, BONHAM, LYNCH MOB),guitarist/producer Roy Z (BRUCE DICKINSON, HALFORD, TRIBE OF GYPSIES),guitarist Jimmy Burkard, bassist Jason Cornwell and drummer Dave "Chilli" Moreno, can be seen below. Additionally, Stephen LeBlanc provides keyboards on the album and Brian Tichy (ex-WHITESNAKE, OZZY OSBOURNE, FOREIGNER drummer/guitarist) played on and co-wrote two songs with Chas. WEST BOUND offers up its take on the classic hard rock sound with soulful vocals, a touch of the blues, and killer melodies.

West says his "inspiration for WEST BOUND's sound came from "influences from the '70s and '80s classic hard rock, back when music was — in my opinion — real and passionate, from the heart and soul. Bands like LED ZEPPELIN, WHITESNAKE, DEEP PURPLE, FOREIGNER, AEROSMITH, VAN HALEN, etc. were what we grew up on and we went back to our youth when writing the songs for the album."

If you remember the great bluesy hard rock explosion from the late '80s and early '90s with bands like TESLA, CINDERELLA, BADLANDS, TORA TORA and SALTY DOG and enjoy the modern throwback hard rock like RIVAL SONS, MASSIVE WAGONS, INGLORIOUS and the like, you are going to find WEST BOUND right up your alley.

On the first single and video, Chas explains that "the song 'Never Surrender' is one that Roy Z and I came up with in the studio. It's about going through struggles in life and never giving up on your dreams. People can relate to it in their own lives… It's a theme we all know as human beings. Sometimes the tough times can help you define your true character."

"Volume I" will be released on February 22 on Frontiers Music Srl.

"Volume I" track listing:

01. Never Surrender
02. Dance Of Life
03. Ain't Gonna Drown
04. Beautiful Dream
05. Nothing
06. Roll The Bones
07. On My Own
08. Keeper Of The Flame
09. Turn To You
10. No Room For Sympathy
11. Traveller


Vocals - Chas West
Guitar - Roy Z
Guitar - Jimmy Burkard
Bass - Jason Cornwell
Drums - Dave "Chilli" Moreno

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).