YAKUZA: New Album Track Listing Revealed

June 10, 2005

Chicago's experimental hardcore/metal band YAKUZA have finalized the track listing for the follow-up to 2002's critically acclaimed CD "Way of the Dead" (Century Media). Entitled "Samsara", the CD was recorded at Volume studios (PELICAN, VENOMOUS CONCEPT) in Chicago with producer Matt Bayles (ISIS, MASTODON, PEARL JAM) and features a wide variety of musical guests, including pianist Jim Baker (Delmark recording artist, DAVE REMPIS QUARTET, STEAM),cellist Fred Lonberg-Holm (PETER BROTZMANN TENTET, LIGHTBOX ORCHESTRA, ex-FLYING LUTTENBACHERS),Sanford Parker (ex-BURIED AT SEA, MINSK) and Troy Sanders (MASTODON). Mastering was handled by Ed Brooks (BOTCH, MURDER CITY DEVILS, PEARL JAM) in Seattle, WA. YAKUZA have also finished initial tracking for the "Kabuki Suites", a recording of improvisational pieces, at Horsedrawn Studios in Chicago, due out sometime next year.

"Samsara" track listing:

01. Cancer of Industry
02. Placostimous
03. Monkeytail
04. Lost Signal
05. Dishonor
06. 20 Bucks
07. Exterminator!
08. Just Say Know
09. Gloryhole
10. Back to the Mountain

In other news, YAKUZA will be performing at Empty Bottle (1035 N. Western) in Chicago, IL on Friday, June 24. Also appearing on the bill will be Hydrahead recording artists KEELHAUL and RABID RABBIT.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email