Ancient Torture

rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

Disc 1:

01. Eat Your Shit
02. Corpse Parade
03. Offalgrinder
04. The Day Man Lost (CARNAGE cover)
05. The Crack Of Doom
06. Ebony Tears (CATHEDRAL cover)
07. Decapitated Crawl [Morbid Way To Die Mix]
08. Abysmal Blood Sea
09. Cremated Remains
10. Stillbirth
11. Wasteland Of Terror (ASPHYX cover)

Disc 2:

01. Mortification To Ruin
02. Decapitated Crawl
03. Bonesawer (PUNGENT STENCH cover)
04. Countless Grave
05. Evil Infection
06. Only Corpse
07. Acid Orgy (Goatlord cover)
08. Torture
09. Warhead (VENOM cover)
10. Warhead (Live '04)

Japan's COFFINS, the band everyone loves to… well, pretty much that everyone loves. It certainly seems that way and for damn good reason, at least if you are a connoisseur of death metal that is primal, doom injected, and boiled down to its essential ugliness — like Ernest Borgnine ugly; the kind of ugly only a fan could love. Point made, point taken; you've caught the drift. Now how about a couple of hours of it? That's what you'll get on "Ancient Torture", a two-CD, 21-track digipak that gathers songs from COFFINS splits, compilations, and vinyl-only releases. And this is a band that has contributed to some terrific split releases with the likes of CIANIDE, XXX MANIAK, and SPUN IN DARKNESS, among others.

As such, "Ancient Torture" is a pretty good place to start your COFFINS experience, unless you'd prefer a formal full-length, such as the stupendous "Buried Death" release. Either way, it's not like the trio changes with the tides, experiments, or releases inferior death metal; we're not even talking demo tracks here. "Ancient Torture" is 21 songs and 21 reasons to hurl headlong into the muck and stay there, the eventual inability to breath notwithstanding. Forget about the buzzing, dread-crawling and general grotesqueness of the damn thing; the monolithic movements of Disc 1 alone are enough to make scientists rethink the Richter scale as an accurate measuring instrument for tremors of this kind. There is something about the way that COFFINS makes its two gears — misery trudge and up-tempo thud — that resonates, no matter the limited variation involved. "Eat Shit", "Corpse Parade" (lawdy, that's a heavy sucker),"Countless Grave" and "Evil Infection" are all roost-rulers, but someone else could easily pick a handful of others. The quality is consistent and even the audio aspects don't vary quite as much as one might expect for a compilation album.

What really makes this one fun are the cover tunes, including treatments of songs from ASPHYX ("Wasteland of Terror"),CARNAGE ("The Day Man Lost"),PUNGENT STENCH ("Bonesawer", vocal twist and all),GOATLORD ("Acid Orgy"),CATHEDRAL ("Ebony Tears"),and VENOM (studio and live versions of "Warhead"). Let's face it; it takes a band like COFFINS to make cover tunes worth the time invested.

If you've already collected said splits, vinyl releases, and compilations, then there is little reason to snag "Ancient Torture" too, unless you are a diehard collector, and COFFINS is the kind of band to which those folks tend to gravitate. Any way you look at it, "Ancient Torture" is a tasty, oversized serving of cinnamon-death bagels and sludge 'n guts oatmeal. Who would pass that up?

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).