Cycle Of Contempt

rating icon 8.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Flames Of Hatred
02. Jabroni
03. Off My Meds
04. A Bitter Pill
05. Crossed
06. First Rate Hate
07. Cycle Of Contempt
08. Setup
09. Punch Your Face In
10. All Fist Fighting
11. Darkness Falls
12. King Shit

With the possible exception of SLAYER, nobody in the '80s thrash scene ripped as hard or with as much psychotic aggression as Canada's RAZOR. Perennially underrated, their back catalogue is full of overlooked gems, with the seminal viciousness of 1985's "Evil Invaders", and 1990's unstoppable "Shotgun Justice" standing out as undeniable examples of thrash metal at its brutal best. 25 years on from their last studio record — 1997's good but not great "Decibels" — the Ontario quartet have reconvened in the exact same furious mood that made their early records so addictive. From the opening seconds of "Flames Of Hatred" onwards, "Cycle Of Contempt" blows away a quarter of a century of silence.

With three members of RAZOR's classic lineup on board (guitarist Dave Carlo, bassist Mike Campagnolo and vocalist Bob Reid),  this was always going to be true to the Canadian thrash bone, but it still seems remarkable how utterly ferocious most of "Cycle Of Contempt" is. "Flames Of Hatred" sets the tone: RAZOR's wiry, stripped-down thrash, reborn with a dash of contemporary precision, but essentially unchanged since the early '90s. "Jabroni" takes off at the same pace, Reid's hoarse bark bursting from absurdly fast, serrated-edge riffs that reek of bloody concrete. "Off My Meds" is even more berserk, as its title suggests. Raw, punky and violent, it's the perfect, sub-three-minute assault, replete with yobbish gang vocals and a mad-eyed, speed-fueled solo from Carlo.

Most bands would throw a slow one in at this point, but no: RAZOR are not here to fuck around. "A Bitter Pill" is another incensed, hell-for-leather tirade, and so is "Crossed". Only "First Rate Hate" releases the accelerator to any meaningful degree, but its classic metal swagger is laced with malice, and the riffs still connect like elbows to the eyeball. Normal service is resumed on the manic, pummeling title track, the steroidal crossover sprint of "Setup", and the self-explanatory "Punch Your Face In" and "All Fist Fighting". If you haven't thrown a major item of furniture across the room by the time "Darkness Falls" offers a brief but spooky moment of respite, you have simply extraordinary self-restraint.

"Cycle Of Contempt" ends as it begins, in kill mode and at top speed. "King Shit" features a cameo from the current king of rock 'n' roll, Danko Jones, and rattles along at a life-threatening pace. Bob Reid spits fury in all directions on the track, which includes another incendiary Carlo lead break and a mid-song interlude which confirms that RAZOR have exquisite comic timing.

It would be easy to once again overlook RAZOR, particularly in a year when bands like MEGADETH and KREATOR have flown the flag for thrash with such panache, but "Cycle Of Contempt" is every bit as essential for fans of the fast and the furious.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).