Deep Shadows and Brilliant Highlights

rating icon 9 / 10

Track listing:

01. Salt in Our Wounds
02. Heartache Every Moment
03. Lose You Tonight
04. In Joy and Sorrow
05. Pretending
06. Close to the Flame
07. Please Don't Let it Go
08. Beautiful
09. Don't Close Your Heart
10. Love You Like I Do

In the wake of Razorblade Romance's phenomenal European success, it is certainly not surprising to see Finland's H.I.M. sticking to essentially the same formula on their follow-up effort, the group's third full-length CD to date and the group's most accessible offering so far. Much like Razorblade…'s more commercial tracks (i.e. German and Finnish #1 single “Join Me”, “Poison Girl”),Deep Shadows… is chock-full of emotion-laden, sonically unthreatening sounding material that revolves less around thick, heavy guitars than it does around frontman Ville Valo's passionately melodic delivery, which is still undoubtedly most potently effective weapon in the group's musical arsenal.


As in the past, Valo's songwriting skills can hardly be faulted, such is his knack for penning deeply dark and sensual yet utterly infectious tunes that will embed themselves in the listener's head after a mere listen or two. This time around, Ville has composed a handful of numbers that appear to be direct descendants of the above-mentioned smash-hit (i.e. “Pretending”, “Hearache Every Moment”, “In Joy And Sorrow”),without coming across like carbon-copies of the group's previous work, and as such, they appear destined to reach the top echelons of the European singles charts—a prospect that is already coming true in the band's native country (where “Pretending” had spent several weeks at #1).


Having loved H.I.M.'s mixture of powerfully metallic guitar-charged approach and Ville's incredibly sensual delivery on the band's Greatest Love Songs Vol. 666 debut, it is somewhat of a letdown to hear the band moving further away from that direction on their subsequent efforts, a fact that is further amplified on Deep Shadows… In purely artistic and commercial terms, however, H.I.M. have made the logical follow-up album to one of last year's highlights, and they continue to cement their reputation as one of the most unique and consistent rock acts around.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).