Disgust at the Status Quo

Future Noise
rating icon 7.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Omar Suarez
02. Melvin Lardy
03. The Stuffer

I hadn't heard much from the U.K. fuzz bastards in quite some time; if memory serves, the last release that scraped the ole eardrums was the Billy Anderson-produced "Confessions of a Man, Mad Enough to Live Amongst Beasts". Never getting the recognition due the band outside of Europe, "Disgust at the Status Quo" is a splendid three-round burst of hot CHARGER lead that should send the explorers of new territories searching for back catalogue releases on Undergroove and Peaceville.

Noisy and abrasive, yet never sticking to one-trick sludge crawl, "Disgust at the Status Quo" is demonstrative of CHARGER's penchant for fusing the face-sanding qualities of sludge with the up-tempo nihilism of hardcore punk sprinkled with grindcore. In fact, "Omar Suarez" (remember "Scarface" and the gruesome sight of Omar hanging from that helicopter?) is something like BRUTAL TRUTH ("Extreme Conditions…" period) engaged in a back alley fight with EYEHATEGOD and IRON MONKEY. "Melvin Lardy" follows suit before "The Stuffer" brings it on home with finely arranged tempo variation and moments of early ROLLINS BAND rage-spew ("You will always be a Sucker!"). Bloody raw; bloody good.

By the way, the "three" in the "three-round" burst is a misnomer, as following the vitriolic threesome are a handful of hidden live tracks that really give you the CHARGER business in all its frantic glory. So there you have it. "Disgust at the Status Quo" is a great way to start the day as you maneuver traffic-clogged arterials on the way to your dead end job. Open mouth, insert pistol.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).