rating icon 6.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Lyra
02. Feed the Wolf
03. Red Cold River
04. Tourniquet
05. Psycho
06. The Dark of You
07. Down
08. Torn in Two
09. Blood
10. Save Yourself
11. Close Your Eyes
12. Vega

BREAKING BENJAMIN's 2015 gold-certified effort, "Dark Before Dawn", debuted at number one on the Billboard 200 chart. A commercial success, to say the least, the release was built upon the back of radio rock chart-topping tracks like "Failure", 2015's most played Active Rock track, and "Angels Fall". Hot on the heels of the chart-busting release, the hard rock juggernauts have returned to the spotlight with its sixth-studio album: "Ember". Considering songs like the debut single "Red Cold River", the potential for "Ember" to reach a comparable level of success as its predecessor is significant.

Benjamin Burnley and his cohorts—the singer/guitarist is joined by bassist Aaron Bruch, drummer Shaun Foist, and guitarists Jasen Rauch and Keith Wallen—have returned with a dozen tracks that remain true to the band's established sound and approach that is hard hitting and heavy without forsaking the benefits of hooks and melody. "Red Cold River" perfectly exemplifies this marriage. The bottom heaviness of "Feed the Wolf", meanwhile, leverages the group's inclination for down-tuned heftiness. As a whole, "Ember" represents some of BREAKING BENJAMIN's most seemingly angry material in years. Ten proper tracks are bookended by a quick, forgettable intro, "Lyra", and an equally brief but enjoyable ambient outro, "Vega". This finale is driven by a simple evocative synth movement atop a solid rhythmic backbone reminiscent of classic NINE INCH NAILS.

BREAKING BENJAMIN has more or less stayed the course with its hard rock that can also, with varying degrees of accuracy, be described as alternative metal, post-grunge and post-nu-metal. Yet the unit has perhaps never followed a release with as many similarities as that which came immediately prior. It's more than a simple carbon copy. It's essentially a continuation of a refined formula.

Unfortunately, however, it's just too much of the same. The band doesn't seem to be doing anything to significantly challenge itself or its listeners. Granted, while an "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" ethos is one that many bands need to consider, "Ember" is just too safe and predictable. Midway into the album, songs like "The Dark of You" and "Down" are apparently designed as a reflection of melancholy, which the band sufficiently conveys; however, the expressions simply drag. "Down", in fact, unintentionally sounds like a poor attempt at self-parody.

Shortly after said shortcomings, though, BREAKING BENJAMIN gets back on track—keeping in mind that "Ember" started off with songs like the crunching opener "Feed the Wolf" followed by the dynamic journey encapsulated in the single "Red Cold River". By the time we reach the eighth song, "Torn in Two", BREAKING BENJAMIN move away from the introspective numbers and return to doing what it does best. The unit's star shines brightest when the songs drive forth with fist-clenching heavy riffs intertwined with soaring, melodic vocals lines. A couple of tracks later, "Save Yourself" takes the heaviness up a notch with a head-nodding riff that is just as aggressive as it is catchy.

Burnley has expressed that the album explores the band's heavy and melodic dichotomy to the "furthest degree", which is true, but it's clear that the band's greatest prowess is when the two occasional disparate traits converge with a greater focus upon the hard-hitting element. "Ember" ultimately proves to be an extension to "Dark Before Dawn" rather than a progression, and, again, this would have been okay if the material was exceptionally strong. "Ember" isn't bad, but it isn't exactly one of the band's best efforts. There are a handful of bangers, but longtime fans are likely to hit the skip button to get to some of them.

Author: Jay H. Gorania
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).