God Is Violence

Seeing Red
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Hail Christ Intro
02. Do You Wanna Go to Heaven
03. Baptized in Piss and Shit
04. God Hates Cops
05. Hail Christ I
06. Bring Back the Guillotine
07. Prosperity Preacher
08. Worship Interlude
09. Jesus Got a Big Ol' Cock
10. Tithe or Die
11. Hail Christ V
12. God Made Me Do It
13. Hail Christ IV
14. God Bless the Rapists
15. Taking Up Serpents
16. The Blood of Jesus
17. Satan Is A Bitch
18. Hail Christ II
19. Make Them All Dead
20. Saint Anthony's Sermon

Heavy music and religion have never been the easiest bedfellows, but CANCER CHRIST have the fervent belief of champions. "God Is Violence" is a manifesto, drawn up on behalf of the band's steadily expanding church of disciples, performed with slightly unnerving, evangelical zeal. Expect boisterous chants of "Hail Christ!" at every turn, short, sharp bursts of explosive, industrial power violence and the pivotal conceit that these Californian miscreants have been beamed down from Heaven, on a mission to give politicians, pederasts and policemen a figurative and possibly also literal kicking. CANCER CHRIST's videos also seem to indicate the regular use of a flamethrower. Finally, you are almost certainly thinking, a religion we can all get behind.

If the above failed to make it clear: "God Is Violence" is fucking nuts. The product of crazed but ingenious minds, these songs are too fast and brutal to be authentically theatrical, but there is a strong sense that CANCER CHRIST are constructing more than just a deafening noise with knucklehead-baiting lyrics. As their strict policy of welcoming all freaks, outcasts and beleaguered minorities to the party suggests, frontman Saint Anthony and his comrades The Snake People are militant supporters of the underdog and enemies of authority. Despite being relentlessly silly, "God Is Violence" is also genuinely exciting, with a spiky spirit redolent of MINISTRY, BUTTHOLE SURFERS and the best of ALTERNATIVE TENTACLES RECORDS' late '80s/early '90s roster. It has become virtually impossible to be subversive in these jaded, desensitized times, but CANCER CHRIST are so wildly entertaining that it is easy to forget just how much through-the-looking-glass blasphemy is being spewed out across these 20 jaw-shattering tracks.

Kicking off with a heartfelt cry of "Do you wanna go to heaven, you dirty piece of shit?", "God is Violence" is ugly, abrasive and totally wired. "Baptized in Piss and Shit" whizzes by like a digital, thrash-fueled DEAD KENNEDYS with a MR. BUNGLE fixation. "God Hates Cops" spreads some self-evident wisdom over rabid hardcore punk, glitchy sci-fi grind and howling police sirens. "Bring Back the Guillotine" is hostile, robot thrash with a heart-warming message of vengeful violence. "Jesus Got a Big Ol' Cock" is a lurching, machine-punk nightmare, like a devil-worshipping DEVO overseen by Al Jourgensen. And so it goes on: brutal, unhinged, freak flag flying high, enlightenment only ever a flamethrower blast away.

CANCER CHRIST are out of their big, belligerent minds, and we are all invited to reap the rewards and dance around the flamethrower like the liberated motherfuckers we aspire to be. Or we might all be condemned to eternal hellfire, which seems a risk well worth taking, if you ask me. Hail Christ!

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).