rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. YSIF
02. Taipei Person / Allah Tea
03. Knievel Has Landed
04. Hydrograd
05. Song #3
06. Fabuless
07. The Witness Trees
08. Rose Red Violent Blue (This Song Is Dumb & So Am I)
09. Thank God It's Over
10. St. Marie
11. Mercy
12. Whiplash Pants
13. Friday Knights
14. Somebody Stole My Eyes
15. When the Fever Broke

STONE SOUR has long outgrown the dismissive and overgeneralized tag “supergroup," stemming of course from its obvious associations and history with mainstream metal juggernaut SLIPKNOT. Like SLIPKNOT, STONE SOUR has cracked Billboard's charts too many times to count, yet its reached far beyond that band's demographic and deeper into the pockets of hard rock, radio rock and alternative fans with its inclination toward those styles as well as toward the histrionics of various eras of heavy metal.

With "Hydrograd", the group's sixth full-length album, and first since the departure of longtime member and SLIPKNOT mainstay Jim Root, the Des Moines, Iowa-based band has perhaps taken its most noticeable stylistic leap(s). This/these act(s) of discovery can be attributed in many ways to the contributions of Root's replacement, Christian Martucci, as well as those of similarly newish bassist Johny Chow.

The metallic hard rock band—rounded out by long-running, core members Corey Taylor, Josh Rand and Roy Mayorga—has unquestionably tightened its focal point upon all that is rock this go around and decidedly so. While the previous back-to-back "House of Gold & Bones" full-lengths in 2012 and 2013 were creatively rewarding for Taylor, they were significantly taxing and cumbersome for the iconic frontman to the point where he says the process robbed him of some of the pleasure involved in the creative process. With "Hydrograd", freedom from the constraints of elaborate, mapped out narratives allowed for unmistakably upbeat, highly charged anthemic rock songs like the adrenaline fueled "Fabuless" and the dramatic, riff-centric "Taipei Person / Allah Tea", the latter of which boasts an unforgettable chorus reminiscent of modern-day ANTHRAX.

The over-the-top garb worn by SLIPKNOT's members is obviously an element of showmanship, but considering the style of music, it conveys that the members are not just dark, they're of a baleful or malevolent ilk. Ironically enough, for all of SLIPKNOT's theatrics and brutish energy and Taylor's role with them, his zest for life betrays the dark image of who he is in that band with this STONE SOUR release. One concludes this by considering the positive disposition and tendencies during Taylor's many interviews, let alone the “half cup full" and hopeful vibe of many of his melodies throughout the years and especially, more than ever, on "Hydrograd". This is more evident on cuts like "Fabuless", and tracks like "The Witness Trees" and "Mercy", which certainly emanate a sense of struggle and hope, in terms of lyrics, vocals and overall musical energy.

"Hydrograd" isn't without blemishes, however. While the title track starts off strong enough, the chorus is nothing short of cringe-worthy. Elsewhere, formulaic radio rock infects "Song #3" from start to finish. Offsetting those shortcomings are tracks like the ALICE IN CHAINS-esque beautiful, melodious darkness of "Friday Knights", the barn burning rage of the metallic "Whiplash Pants", and the Southern-flavored stylings of "St. Marie"—a song replete with slide guitars. It's hard to believe that STONE SOUR first reared its ugly head 25 years ago. With the band's longevity in mind, STONE SOUR's ongoing musical curiosity is that much more impressive. "Hydrograd" isn't likely to be revered as a classic like "Appetite for Destruction", but that isn't to say that it isn't a solid metallic hard rock album worth revisiting.

Author: Jay H. Gorania
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).