Internal Affairs / Skyline Whispers

Nuclear Blast
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Siberian Queen
02. California Morning
03. Glowing City Madness
04. West Ruth Ave
05. Transatlantic Blues
06. Miami 502
07. Internal Affairs
08. 1998
09. Stella Ain't No Dove
10. Montreal Midnight Supply
11. Green Hills Of Glumslöv
12. Song For Ingebörg

01. Sail On
02. Living For The Nighttime
03. Stilletto
04. Owaranai Palisades
05. Lady Jade
06. I Ain't Old I Ain't Young
07. All The Ladies
08. Spanish Ghosts
09. Demon Princess
10. Skyline Whispers
11. Roads Less Travelled
12. The Heather Reports
13. September, You're A Woman

While modern rock radio bands are busy mining the early blues-rock of LED ZEPPELIN and younger metal bands are stripping the New Wave of British Heavy Metal songbook for parts, Swedish supergroup THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA scratch an itch for those with nostalgia for a different specific moment in rock music's history books. Since forming the act as a side project in 2012, SOILWORK vocalist Björn "Speed" Strid and bassist Sharlee D'Angelo (ARCH ENEMY, WITCHERY, MERCYFUL FATE) have conspired with other members of the Swedish heavy metal community to generate catchy rockers and power ballads that are a throwback to late '70s and early '80s FM radio, when heavy power-pop anthems from acts such as CHEAP TRICK and KISS dominated the rock charts, alongside bands such as JOURNEY and REO SPEEDWAGON that were coating their output with a glossy finish.

The latest effort from THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA, "Sometimes The World Ain't Enough", has become a favorite for fans looking for sugary pop-rock flavors in 2018. But Nuclear Blast's reissues of the band's first two records–2012's "Internal Affairs" and 2015's "Skyline Whispers", both of which were originally released on Italian label Coroner Records—show off a group that was already unified in its mission to take a break from the heavier sounds of the members' main projects and pay tribute to the acts they grew up on. "Siberian Queen" begins the band's run with a galloping drum-and-bass intro that sounds loosely inspired by LED ZEPPELIN's "Immigrant Song". It then jumps forward ten years with swaggering croons from Strid, shred guitar from David Andersson and Sebastian Forslund that would have shone during the glory days of the live record, and faux-stringed percussion that would have made ELECTRIC LIGHT ORCHESTRA blush.

The NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA essentially hit the ground running as the ultimate rock revue for the sound that filled arenas from 1977 through 1983. "California Morning", from the group's debut, and "All The Ladies", from the band's 2015 follow-up "Skyline Whispers", are clap-along stompers that could pass for outtakes from the first few KISS records. A mastery of boogie-blues rock on "Montreal Midnight Supply" and "Roads Less Traveled" show off a band that could have fit comfortably alongside 38 SPECIAL on a broadcast of NBC's "The Midnight Special". The title track of the band's debut and "Stiletto" are disco-funk jam-outs that could be released as a bootleg seven-inch with a Casablanca Records logo stamped on it. Most with an ear for that sound would be fooled.

The sound is warm and vintage, with lyrical content to match. Much like KISS did with "Detroit Rock City", THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA pays tribute to its favorite cities that are aflame with rock and roll on road-trip fodder such as "California Morning" and "Miami 5:02". Strid strikes a strong vocal balance between shouting belters and radio-friendly croons; the latter especially shine through on power ballads and tales of lost love such as "Glowing City Madness".

Due to their pedigrees, Strid and D'Angelo are the most likely to draw attention and initial listens to THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA. The band's secret weapon that really elevates the group's songs beyond flaccid mimicry is the keyboard and percussion work of Richard Larsson. The man is an incredibly versatile force behind his keys, whether he is launching into overloaded prog bombast, anchoring piano-driven balladry, or Hammond organ-propelled funk.

The band's profile has slowly grown since its first Nuclear Blast release, 2017's "Amber Galactic". But folks that dig backwards into THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA's first two records will wonder why the spotlight wasn't shining brighter from day one.

Author: Jason Roche
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).