Legacy Of The Dark Lands

Nuclear Blast
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. 1618 Ouverture
02. The Gathering
03. War Feeds War
04. Comets And Prophecies
05. Dark Cloud's Rising
06. The Ritual
07. In The Underworld
08. A Secret Society
09. The Great Ordeal
10. Bez
11. In The Red Dwarf's Tower
12. Into The Battle
13. Treason
14. Between The Realms
15. Point Of No Return
16. The White Horseman
17. Nephilim
18. Trial And Coronation
19. Harvester Of Souls
20. Conquest Is Over
21. This Storm
22. The Great Assault
23. Beyond The Wall
24. A New Beginning

The seeds of the incredibly ambitious BLIND GUARDIAN TWILIGHT ORCHESTRA project were planted back in the nineties. Singer Hansi Kürsch and guitarist André Olbrich, core members of the extravagant and decadent German power metal outfit BLIND GUARDIAN, spurred forward the goal for them to craft an elaborate orchestral album since they were at that time already utilizing orchestral elements to flesh-out their rich and layered heavy metal sound. More recently, the grand effort and concept finally began to come to fruition as the lyrical backdrop, one that matches the grandiosity of the musical core, began to take shape with Kürsch and Olbrich working alongside bestselling German author Markus Heitz. The novelist's latest effort — "Die dunklen Lande", which was released earlier this year — is set to a narrative that takes place in the 1600s. This book is essentially the prequel to the tale that's behind "Legacy Of The Dark Lands", an opus that was crafted by BLIND GUARDIAN TWILIGHT ORCHESTRA, which is an entity that is essentially the marriage between BLIND GUARDIAN and the Prague Philharmonic Orchestra.

Heitz and BLIND GUARDIAN converged to synthesize their perspectives of the tale of one mercenary named Nicolas who was deeply entrenched in the Thirty Years' War. The acclaimed author initiates the story with his book, while the speed metal legends BLIND GUARDIAN pick up the baton with "Legacy Of The Dark Lands". In terms of storyline, the passionate and very human perspective of Nicolas unfolds. On the musical side, Kürsch, Olbrich and crew realize their potential to reach the lofty goal by successfully harnessing bold, classical orchestral arrangements alongside booming, theatrical choral vocals.

It's important to note that while BLIND GUARDIAN has historically incorporated orchestral elements within their symphonic heavy metal template, "Legacy Of The Dark Lands" is purely an orchestral album. It's one that Kürsch and company spearheaded with the assistance of the aforementioned orchestra. "Legacy Of The Dark Lands" is simply awesome. It's definitely one of BLIND GUARDIAN's best releases in decades.

Everything has come full circle considering that the origins of the creative expression reach back a couple of decades around the period of BLIND GUARDIAN's classic "Nightfall in Middle-Earth" release, not simply in terms of inspiration, but also taking into account the familiar contributors. A couple of voice actors from "Nightfall in Middle-Earth" have returned. Norman Eshley, Morgoth, and Douglas Fielding, Sauron, from "Nightfall in Middle-Earth" provide narration on "Legacy Of The Dark Lands". The release is partly dedicated to Fielding who passed away in June.

"Legacy of the Dark Lands" is a marathon, a cinematic heavy metal event, of sorts. The epic release clocks in at about 75 minutes, divided into 11 songs. It is augmented with 12 voice acted intros. It's a monstrous affair that doesn't provide immediate impact, but for those who can totally immerse themselves in the album, the rewards are considerable. While some metal bands, even ones that are quite talented, awkwardly slap interludes upon the proceedings in a lazy effort to diversify the musical experience, BLIND GUARDIAN utilizes the short spoken-word moments with a sense of purpose and impact. They are integral to the captivating nature of "Legacy Of The Dark Lands".

The release opens with "1618 Ouverture", a dramatic number that exudes a dreary yet biting sense of drama. The immense talents of Kürsch shine bright throughout, yet most saliently on "Dark Cloud's Rising" with a relatively more impassioned and unhinged delivery. The gentlemen behind BLIND GUARDIAN truly wield the collective musicians' capabilities on this track in achieving highly evocative moments built upon grandiose orchestral structure. "Point of No Return" is an elaborate and layered dose of heavy metal glory, and "Harvester Of Souls" begins with an eerie quality that weaves in-and-out of the track that feels like a movie unto itself.

In a nutshell, "Legacy Of The Dark Lands" is what you would expect to hear as the score to a flick written by BLIND GUARDIAN. It's incredible because it bridges the thin divide between epic heavy metal and classical music in terms of spirit and essence. It's the world class symphony orchestra version of "Nightfall in Middle-Earth". "Legacy Of The Dark Lands" is one of BLIND GUARDIAN's best efforts. One can only hope for more BLIND GUARDIAN TWILIGHT ORCHESTRA material to come.

Author: Jay H. Gorania
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).