My Winter Storm

rating icon 6 / 10

Track listing:

01. Ite, Missa Est
02. I Walk Alone
03. Lost Northern Star
04. Seeking For The Reign
05. The Reign
06. The Escape of the Doll
07. My Little Phoenix
08. Die Alive
09. Boy And The Ghost
10. Sing For Me
11. Oasis
12. Poison
13. Our Great Divide
14. Sunset
15. Damned And Divine
16. Minor Heaven
17. Ciarán's Well
18. Calling Grace

Beautiful, graceful, majestic… all adjectives that could be easily used to describe the high points of the former NIGHTWISH singer's second solo album since her less than amicable split with the Finnish symphonic metallers. Drawn-out and slightly pretentious could serve as the flip side of that coin. Continuing the trend set by her last outing, "Henkäys Ikuisuudesta" (a Christmas album),"My Winter Storm" gives the impression that the diva is trying to put some distance between herself and her metal past.

"My Winter Storm" comes across as more of an opera that makes infrequent use of rock instrumentation than it does a crossbreed of metal and classical music. I would imagine this was the way it is intended too, as the classically trained siren's voice sounds much more at home in this setting than it did with her work in NIGHTWISH. That's not to say that the hour-long disc is without its moments that cater to the staunch symphonic metal elitist. Lead single "I Walk Alone" showcases the operatic abilities of the singer, while still holding onto the structure of a traditional, symphonic rock tune. Songs like "Lost Northern Star", "My Little Phoenix" and the climactic "Die Alive" feature a little more beef in the guitar, bass 'n' drum department while still staying within the realm of Tarja's operatic vision. The dark yet obviously forced "Ciarán's Well" misses terribly and plays like someone took one of Turunen's spare vocal tracks and dumped it atop an up-tempo jam session. While her cover of ALICE COOPER's "Poison" is a step in the right direction when compared to the remake of ABBA's "Happy New Year" heard on the last album, the song itself is a mediocre affair at best.

It's on the more classical-based tracks that Turunen's stellar voice shines the brightest. Devoid of any rock/metal elements whatsoever, "The Reign" is a captivating example of what the songstress is capable of. Other awe-inspiring vocal performances include "Boy And The Ghost" and the haunting "Our Great Divide". The main problem with these, and tracks like them is that you either have to be a fan of this particular style or have the mindset needed to immerse yourself into this long and dedicated journey.

If you were a NIGHTWISH fan for Tarja's vocals, or arias are your thing, then "My Winter Storm" is right up your alley. With the small amount of guitar-driven metal found on this album, I don't see too many symphonic metalheads going nuts over this one. The main focus here is Tarja's pipes, and rightfully so as she's one of the best out there right now. It does, however, take more than just a pretty face (or voice in this case) to make an amazing record and "My Winter Storm" doesn't quite cut it. A solid and respectable effort though.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).