Profound Morality

Church Road
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Abaddon
02. Coalescence
03. Carmine (Fills The Hollow)
04. Near Vision
05. Mutagen
06. Enter the Flesh
07. Abattoir
08. Profound Morality

There are lots of exciting things happening in UK heavy music right now, and HERIOT can be added to that list without hesitation. "Profound Morality" is a very modern, post-everything piece of work. Hewn from various excoriating elements of extreme metal, hardcore, post-rock and industrial, this is a 21-minute slap to the side of the head that will have your ears ringing for days.

It is particularly satisfying that HERIOT bear little resemblance to anyone else, even at this early stage of their development. There are certainly shades of the familiar here and there, but the overwhelming impression is of a band with an inexhaustible supply of great ideas, and gallons of venom in the tank. The core of this record comprises short, spiky bursts of churning, atonal hardcore that are heroically pitch-black and bereft of hope. "Carmine", "Near Vision" and "Enter the Flesh" are sonically dense and unrelenting, dominated by rhythmic violence and, pleasingly, unafraid to stop when everything has been said. The slightly longer likes of "Coalescence" and "Profound Morality" are built from the same raw materials, but with their counterparts' claustrophobia replaced with a more spacious, texturally ingenious squall of noise. Meanwhile, eerie overture "Abaddon" and the amorphous "Abattoir" echo the outer limits of industrial and dark ambient music, with the latter being a particularly startling excursion into experimental sound design that, if you screw your ears up tightly enough, sounds like THE HAXAN CLOAK remixed by MERZBOW. Even more disquieting, quasi-interlude "Mutagen" reduces HERIOT's music to a syrupy wash of disembodied static and hum.

It is worth noting that nothing on "Profound Morality" is entirely unprecedented, and there are plenty of new (or new-ish) bands out there, devising more new ways to evade the Genre Police via walls of grotesque noise. But HERIOT have made every second of their debut count, and the sound of a band with lofty creative goals is unmistakable. This is a mesmerizing start to what promises to be a wild and deafening ride.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).