Prowler in the Yard

Relapse Reissue
rating icon 9 / 10

Track listing:

01. Jennifer (Remix)
02. Cheerleader Corpses (Remix)
03. Scatology Homework (Remix)
04. Trojan Whore (Remix)
05. Ghost Of A Bullet (Remix)
06. Heart And Crossbones (Remix)
07. Strangled With A Halo (Remix)
08. Intimate Slavery (Remix)
09. Mapplethorpe Grey (Remix)
10. Tickets To The Car Crash (Remix)
11. Naked Trees (Remix)
12. Sheet Metal Girl (Remix)
13. Preacher Crawling (Remix)
14. Pornographic Memory (Remix)
15. Murder Blossom (Remix)
16. Body Scout (Remix)
17. Snuff Film At Eleven (Remix)
18. Hyperviolet (Remix)
19. Starbelly (Remix)
20. Junkyard God (Remix)
21. Piss Angel (Remix)
22. Jennifer 2 (Remix)
23. Unreleased Untitled track

PIG DESTROYER has been relatively quiet in recent times, aside from capturing the attention of many with the addition of bassist John Jarvis and playing the odd show or festival. The recent reissue of the classic "Prowler in the Yard", then, serves to remind the old folks and to educate the younglings about the early period of one of the most important modern grindcore bands.

PIG DESTROYER vocalist J.R. Hayes had eschewed the prototypical politically minded grind lyrics by this time in favor of twisted prose reminiscent of Dax Riggs's work with ACID BATH. His warped words are more than just pensive. They don't simply capture the dark side of the human mind; they celebrate it, on the surface, anyway, regardless of how one may infer meaning on a subtextual level. And he passionately screams the lyrics with a lambasting delivery that fits like a glove within the music's coarseness.

It's hard to believe that so much intensity exploded from the band which was just a trio at that point, including Hayes, drummer Brian Harvey (since replaced by MISERY INDEX's Adam Jarvis) and guitarist Scott Hull.

"Prowler in the Yard" is grind, and it's thrash metal on crack. The slow and mid-paced belligerence — like the filthy sludge riffs tightening the noose toward the end of "Starbelly" — is certainly more palatable to, say, a SLIPKNOT fan seeking something more intense.

PIG DESTROYER has stood out from the more indecipherable blur of more standard grind outfits because of its sense of groove and catchiness. However, their more obvious tumultuous grind element is probably beyond comprehension and appreciation for those just passing by.

The "Prowler in the Yard" reissue includes remixed tracks, "Jennifer 2" as an individual track that was originally buried at the end of "Piss Angel" when the album was initially released, and a previously unreleased untitled track.

Author: Jay H. Gorania
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).