Raw Power Live: In the Hands of the Fans

MVD Entertainment Group
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Raw Power
02. Search and Destroy
03. Gimmie Danger
04. Your Pretty Face is Going to Hell
05. Shake Appea
06. I Need Somebody
07. Penetration
08. Death Trip
09. I Got A Right

Whether you were there to experience the free form expression of primitive urges and the unchecked violence or only read about it in any one of numerous publications documenting punk rock's early history, you must be aware of the massive, transcendent influence of THE STOOGES. 1969's self-titled album and 1970's "Funhouse" formed the proto-punk basis that inspired so many bands intrigued with the channeling of unfiltered primal rage into musical rituals of defiance and gang-banging celebrations of frontal lobe overrides.

But it was 1973's "Raw Power" from the renamed and reignited — thanks in large part to DAVID BOWIEIGGY AND THE STOOGES when the stars aligned and out came a collection of songs that were as memorable, even catchy (the chorus to "Search and Destroy" is one for the ages) as they were grotesque (including the recording),savage, and repulsive to anything resembling societal convention. There isn't a bum track in the bunch and James Williamson's guitar playing was just plain incendiary. The album filled a space within which the wheels always seemed on the verge of falling off, in the process keeping energy levels heighted in the most threatening of ways.

Most would agree that you just don't reproduce an album like "Raw Power" nor interpret it on stage three decades later, since what was captured all those years ago was never bottled and sold for mass consumption. But most would also be surprised at just how well IGGY AND THE STOOGES 2010 brought these songs back to life and produced levels of live energy that belied the ages of guitarist James Williams (replacing the late Ron Asheton),bassist Mike Watt, drummer Scott Asheton, saxophonist Steve McKay, and the sinewy 63-year old epileptic seizure on wheels known as Iggy Pop. Well, OK, that Pop's intense franticness and unbridled enthusiasm has never waned isn't exactly a secret.

Performing the "Raw Power" album in its entirety at the All Tomorrows Parties festival in September of 2010, the 180-gram vinyl release (how perfect is that?) of "Raw Power Live: In the Hands of the People" does more than justice to punch-ups like "Your Pretty Face is Going to Hell" and "I Got A Right", or the dark, almost entrancing "Gimme Danger". It brings them back to life in a manner that most fans — myself included — previously thought impossible. The live renditions may not transport you back to 1973, but the amount of spirit recaptured is enough to bring back the dry mouth, the dilated pupils, and what appear to be clothes you've been wearing for four days. Pop's seems to alter his voice to bring it more in line with the original recordings (not to mention going bat shit crazy the entire time),McKay plays his sonic support role to the hilt, and the whole thing goes off like a bomb, which of course brings with it flying debris and a general lack of order. In the context of other groups' live recordings we'd be referring to "warts," which equates to imperfection. But surgical precision never figured into the STOOGES' equation and "Raw Power Live" offers no real counterargument in that regard, the heightened professionalism that comes with aging musicians notwithstanding. Given the choice, fans will almost always choose the studio album (original or reissues) because of the still real risk of electric shock inherent in the action, but "Raw Power Live" offers a second choice that is well beyond acceptable.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).