Rubicon Cross

Raider Rock/INgrooves
rating icon 7.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Locked and Loaded
02. Next Worst Enemy
03. Bleed With Me
04. Save Me Within
05. You Will Remember Me
06. Movin' On
07. RU Angry
08. Shine
09. Kill or Be Killed
10. All the Little Things

Here we have FIREHOUSE vocalist CJ Snare aligned with FURYON/PRIDE guitarist Chris Green in their new unit, RUBICON CROSS. While there are certain elements from Snare's commercialized home base brought into this one, the pleasant surprise is RUBICON CROSS is nothing like FIREHOUSE.

A bit harder, a bit dirtier with enough hooks to stay melodic, RUBICON CROSS at times treads into LILLIAN AXE and IMPELLITERI turf without the latter's keys (though they manifest here intermittently) and less shred. That's the good news. The so-so news about RUBICON CROSS' self-titled debut is that its appeal will be relegated mainly to diehards who won't let the hair-rockin' late Eighties go without a fight.

Of course, this appears to be RUBICON CROSS' reason for being. The differential to RUBICON CROSS, however, comes in the means of diverse song structuring than what CJ Snare's surrounded himself in FIREHOUSE. Many of RUBICON CROSS' tracks stay on a rocking glide, which suits Snare well. Without hitting any ear-splitting falsettos, Snare rides in high alto throughout agreeable fast bangers like "Locked & Loaded", "You Will Remember Me", "Kill Or Be Killed" and "Next Worst Enemy".

Ironically, where Snare struggles is the ballad department. "Save Me Within" is delivered by the band with delicate rolls, but the slower pace and softer tones trump the obviously excited CJ Snare, who warbles and congests. Though not quite a ballad, he gets messy and choky throughout "RU Angry", which comes off as deliberate on the choruses, but his exuberance betrays him on the verses. He does redeem himself on "Shine", however, and as far retro power ballads go, it's a nice ride.

Snare also nails the unhurried but loud drag of "Movin' On" and with his dedication to toughening up for RUBICON CROSS' punchier cuts, one almost forgets his alma mater altogether. CJ Snare's confidence and straying from his pesky shrieks in FIREHOUSE equates into an overall appealing performance. His chuffing on the verses of "Kill or Be Killed" may or may not be inspired by Gene Simmons, but it's a cool touch.

Chris Green is terrific all over this album. With Jeff Lerman and Simon Farmery fortifying his front line, Green shines with sparkling solos, whammy shots, grooving riffs and superb acoustic arches. Farmery's bass fills a ton of space and he (along with drummer Robert Behnke) keeps even the sweet and sugary moments on this album pulled down.

RUBICON CROSS have their hearts in a good place. The dabbling with old time rock 'n roll and melodic punk on the album's closer "All the Little Things" is a natty salutation, even as CJ Snare overshoots his hipness factor with some bonus cussing that sounds silly from him. Nevertheless, this is a harmless bit of fun that could've been a train wreck. Instead, it entertains just enough to call it a day.

Author: Ray Van Horn, Jr.
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).