Songs The Night Sings

Frontiers Music
rating icon 7.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Not Your Monster
02. Songs The Night Sings
03. When It All Comes Down
04. Silence Between The Words
05. Pills On My Pillow
06. To Whatever End
07. The Pallbearer Walks Alone
08. Get Out Of My Head
09. If I Had A Heart
10. You Will Learn
11. I Have To Go

Although her contribution to the NIGHTWISH story will be overshadowed by those of her predecessor and successor, Anette Olzon always had the right voice for bright and pop-driven symphonic metal. In many ways, THE DARK ELEMENT is a much more fitting project for her talents. On "Songs The Night Sings", the Scandinavian band keep the sugary anthems coming, but with a great deal more conviction than before, with Olzon's performance a particularly invigorating revelation.

There are no rocket science lessons required to put yourself snugly at the heart of THE DARK ELEMENT's perpetually melodic world. Where her former band have a penchant for expansive, progressive musings, this is all about the sparkly eyed money shot: from thunderous, goth-tinged opener "Not Your Monster" onwards, there are so many hooks and giant choruses being hurled into the air that you may begin to feel slightly bewildered. "Songs The Night Sings" is heavy, too; albeit in that highly polished way that symphonic metal demands, but it's a winning combination either way. The absence of any overtly modern pop tropes is an additional bonus. This is a smart and versatile record, with shades of WITHIN TEMPTATION's effortless genre-blending, but with plenty of that oh-so-Finnish pomp that guitarist Jani Liimaitanen brings to the table.

The title track is a particularly fine example of what happens when AOR sensibilities collide with the melodrama of the symphonic set. It's a world class, radio-friendly rock song, but with aesthetic depth to spare, an infectious stuttering disco beat and a wild bass guitar solo. "The Pallbearer Walks Alone" is similarly irresistible, Olzon's subtly powerful vocal bringing a dash of soul to a blazing collage of riffs and refrains. As simple and succinct as THE DARK ELEMENT can be, there are no shortage of layers to uncover here, but it's the tunes that will linger in your head. From raging metal singalongs to tear-soaked power ballads ("To Whatever End" is particularly overblown, in the best possible way),"Songs The Night Sings" is unapologetic in its melodic shininess. Fans of AMARANTHE craving another fix will definitely find plenty to adore here, but pop sensibilities are used sparingly and with admirable precision: for the most part, this is a traditional symphonic metal record that simply can't resist a colossal chorus. Best of all, Anette Olzon has never sung better or sounded more emotionally engaged. THE DARK ELEMENT are steadily evolving into a formidable proposition.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).