Sworn Allegiance

Century Media
rating icon 7.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Winterland
02. Destruction
03. Only The Dead
04. The Longships Are Coming
05. Helljoy
06. Insane For Blood
07. I Bring You Death
08. Attack!
09. Ceo
10. One Night In Nazareth
11. Praised Be The Lord
12. Metalheads
13. To Miklagard
14. Long Live The Beast

After five years of stomping around in the wilderness from 1997-2002, UNLEASHED are back hacking out albums and on a roll again. While this is undeniably a good thing for death metal in general, it wouldn't necessarily be the second coming of (the anti) Christ as musical comebacks go.

This is based on the train of thought that UNLEASHED weren't entirely the pick of the growling hordes first time around. Yes, a riotous, rough-hewn, no-frills mix of SLAYER and VENOM and the like — topped off by a frontman always willing to whip out a hollowed horn full of mead to toast the power of metal — but not essential listening by any means.

Time away has obviously served them well, however, because "Sworn Allegiance" is without doubt the best thing they have laid to plastic thus far. A rampaging opener always gets the juices flowing nicely, and "Winterland" is most certainly that — galloping along in the spirit of NIHILIST (frontman Johnny Hedlund's classic pre-UNLEASHED outfit who turned into ENTOMBED upon his departure),then breaking into a face-melting middle riff and solo. "Follow that!" you find yourself shrieking, and on this occasion they do with "Destruction (of the Race of Men)", another traditional chugger that cuts through like a freshly sharpened rapier. Where once the Swedes seemed slightly bereft of magic beyond the basics, this time the catchiness is there and the lead guitar work from Fredrik is at times scintillating, taking the art of old school fret-mauling into — dare we say it — places of melodic pleasantry. Talking of NIHILIST, there a few more references to the visionary outfit before "Sworn Allegiance" is finished. Take "I Bring You Death", which fulfils the promise of its title on a controlled blastbeat and fat, obnoxious chords.

Fourteen tracks, though, is a big ask in terms of maintaining consistency and, as we all know, all good shredding sprees must come to an end. On "Helljoy", Johnny delivers the kind of hammy performance that VENOM's Cronos would when his tongue was planted firmly in his cheek — and so the riffs fall suitably into line behind it. Further in, "One Night In Nazareth" simply isn't up to scratch against the album's explosive start. But what really doesn't do them any justice is "Metalheads" — three-minutes-thirteen of solid cheese with a cheese fondue piped onto the top. The fact that this metal-hailing anthem features the line "Hell yeah, that's how it goes — rock hard and heavy at every show" should tell you that you it was made for the "skip track" button.

Nevertheless, UNLEASHED are largely back better, brasher and more potent than ever. Raise your horns to their Viking power.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).