Symphony of Death

rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Voice of the Soul
02. Crystal Mountain
03. Zero tolerance
04. Scavenger Of Human Sorrow
05. Spirit Crusher
06. Destiny
07. Pull The Plug

A collaboration between Russian death metal band BUICIDE and the Olympic Symphony Orchestra, "Symphony of Death" presents cherished gems from the DEATH back catalogue, embellished with gung-ho orchestral oomph. There are, of course, countless examples of metal bands jamming with violinists and tuba players, but not every such project resounds with the passion and musical eloquence that these relative unknowns display here. Every sensible metalhead knows that Chuck Schuldiner was, particularly towards the end of his tragically short career, an authentic composer, every bit as much as he was a world-class shredder and metal icon. As a result, as the mellifluous, orchestra-augmented strains of elegiac instrumental "Voice of the Soul" ring out, the whole DEATHORCHESTRA project makes immediate and perfect sense. The album comprises seven beautifully recreated instrumental versions of DEATH classics, each boasting an orchestral arrangement that adds innumerable extra layers of depth and intrigue to these already fascinating songs.

In truth, it's the progressive hues of later DEATH material that lend themselves most readily to an orchestra's limitless sound-making abilities. Here, "Scavenger Of Human Sorrow" and "Spirit Crusher" (both originally from 1998's "The Sound Of Perseverance") are rendered as grandiose, ornamental tributes to Schuldiner's brilliance. More importantly, unlike many more high-profile metal-with-strings affairs, the arrangements brought to bear on these songs are uniformly inspired, never robbing the riffs or aggression of their bite, but somehow heightening the emotional power of every last bombastic moment. Full-bore, bona-fide opener "Crystal Mountain" is utterly familiar in any form, but here it sounds refreshed. The decision to keep these tunes vocal-free is another masterstroke: nobody wants some plucky soul doing a bad Chuck impression, and something as intricate and intense as "Destiny" (from "Individual Thought Patterns", 1993) has more than enough musicality and texture to justify a screamless run-through.

Full credit to BUICIDE here. Paying tribute to music as a sacred and beloved as this is always a risky business, but the Russians have simultaneously allowed their own creativity to run wild and demonstrated a profound respect for and understanding of Chuck Schuldiner's legacy. The band themselves are note-perfect and tighter than a weasel's shitpipe, but the love these musicians have for DEATH shines through every virtuoso second.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).