The Adversary

rating icon 8.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Invocation
02. Called by the Fire
03. Citizen
04. Homecoming
05. Astera Ton Proinon
06. Panem Et Circenses
07. And He Shall Walk in Empty Places
08. Will You Love Me Now?
09. The Pain is Still Mine

There has been one hell of a lot of anticipation for EMPEROR/PECCATUM legend Ihsahn's solo album debut, "The Adversary", and rightly so. Terms like "genius" have surrounded his projects, which could have resulted in "The Adversary" being a huge disappointment. Even I was wondering how let down I'd be by the final product. No problem here, folks. "The Adversary" combines intelligent (but not pretentious or verbose) songwriting with an approach that is metal to the bone. Though there is clearly a bent toward the black metal end of the spectrum, the following often-quoted statement from Ihsahn is not only accurate, but describes an album that ably mixes influences without sounding disjointed: "It incorporates influential elements from all periods/stages of my background since I first picked up the guitar 20 years ago; powerful, epic, extreme and straight from the heart."

Ihsahn plays all the instruments, except for drums, which are performed by Asgeir Mickelson (BORKNAGAR, SPIRAL ARCHITECT). As mentioned above, the album's heaviest moments (and there are far fewer mellow ones) are rooted in speedy black metal licks, the actual arrangements unsurprisingly giving off at least a faint EMPEROR feel, certainly in terms of classiness and grand design. "Invocation", "Citizen", "Panem Et Circenses", and "Will You Love Me Now?" are representative of the aforementioned feel, though none are nearly as experimental as the work of latter-day EMPEROR. Breaks for lighter moments, whether driven by a lightly picked guitar or classically inspired synth line, serve to break up the aggressive moments. Vocals that are often gruff, sometimes croaky, are spiced up with Ihsahn's falsetto flourishes. In addition to better enunciation, the vocals are mixed higher than was the case with EMPEROR. Here again though, while black metal at its base, this is by no means a continuation of his former band's work. It would seem impossible not to hear at least bits of his work from that period, as well as from the PECCATUM years.

While retaining black metal elements (for the most part),the remaining songs offer a mix of traditional heavy metal and proggy slivers, colored with melancholia and ethereal atmospheres. "Called by the Fire" is an album highlight, sporting a riff derived from the MERCYFUL FATE school and a wonderfully catchy chorus. Ihsahn even sounds a good deal like KING DIAMOND when he hits the extra high notes. A marriage of elegance and brooding heaviness occurs on "Astera Ton Proinon", during which Ihsahn can sound reflective one moment and anguished the next. Quasi-operatic harmonies in parts serve the song nicely. "And He Shall Walk in Empty Places" offers a stronger sense of the melodic to go with some classy black metal picking, as well as a particularly effective break into riff-chunk territory. The album closes with "The Pain is Still Mine", a 10-minute track that is far more epic and PECCATUM-like than the rest of the album. Though a more guitar-oriented approach is apparent on the song's second half, an indefinable sadness is heard throughout.

Few albums live up to such intense hype, but "The Adversary" succeeds for three primary reasons: (1) Good songwriting; (2) a natural blend of influences; and (3) an honest delivery. It may not quite hit "genius" heights, but the album is certainly an accomplished and enjoyable affair. An easy 8.5.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).