The Dead Are Screaming

rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Establish Dominance
02. Know Your Place
03. Dogknotted
04. Fountains of Bile
05. No More Heroes
06. Beating Those We Despise
07. Gnaw Their Bones
08. Irate
09. Showering Teeth

As desensitized as we are in these turbulent times, extreme metal can still make you spit your breakfast across the room in sheer terror and delight. Australian infidels WEREWOLVES are making no effort to push music into fresh territory here: "The Dead Are Screaming" is all about the warped thrill of unstoppable violence, vomit and blood. Essentially a power trio, comprising PSYCROPTIC drummer Dave Haley and two former members of digi-grinders THE BERZERKER, Matt Wilcox and Sam Bean, WEREWOLVES are simply one of the nastiest things to happen to death metal in a long time.

Jaw-snapping kickoff "Establish Dominance" lives up to its title with a hyper-speed wall of blasts and razor-sharp death metal tempo tropes. The band's airtight and sinewy sound leaves no room for dynamics, beyond the occasional dead stop or eerie segue: everything here is designed to smash, stab and generally eviscerate. "Know Your Place" is as black hearted and unrelenting as MARDUK at their war-hungry best, but with fiendish hooks bursting through its heads-down, wall-of-horror onslaught. When the blasting does finally recede for any meaningful length of time, midway through the mutant savagery of "Dogknotted", WEREWOLVES still sound fiercely focused on the kill.

The remaining seven songs are all equally terrifying and performed with mad-eyed zeal. Extra marks are awarded for some of the song titles: "Gnaw Their Bones", "Fountains of Bile", "Showering Teeth" — images as ugly and unsavory as the music that accompanies them, with a tiny twinkle of bleak humor lurking deep in the malevolent mix. In particular, "Fountains of Bile" is a brilliantly imperious demonstration of death metal fundamentals, from precise tech-metal terrorism to doomy, dissonant miasma.

Frankly, it's a rare and simple pleasure to be pinned to the wall by 33 minutes of grotesque, bloodthirsty, myopic noise that displays zero interest in courting mainstream metal fans. This one is for the underground heads: it's a horrible, malicious explosion of blastbeats, screams, muscular technicality and bad fucking vibes. And sometimes that's just what we need to cheer us right up.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).