The Galilean Satellites

Translation Loss
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Departe
02. Europa
03. Absent
04. Itinerant
05. Au Pays Natal
06. Deneb
07. Capella
08. Beta Aquilae
09. Ross 128
10. Sol

Probably not the most festive Christmas music you could think of here, although you could keep your father busy for a while by getting him to sync up two stereos to play these two discs simultaneously, for the full effect of the work. Of course, then you'd have your grandmother pissing herself as she faints into the mashed potatoes, and the little cousins seeing the third eye of God as ROSETTA's apocalyptic endtime crushdrone kicked in, and dinner would just be ruined.

If the digipak format and the Aaron Turner design didn't tip you off, ROSETTA is following in the footsteps of NEUROSIS and ISIS, creating music that's at once thunderous, epic, ambient and insidious. And fear not, you can listen to both discs separately — the heavy one is a massive wall of seething squall all on its own, while the ambient disc is hypnotic, harrowing in its own way, sounding like transmissions from the other side of a black hole.

It could be said that ROSETTA doesn't add much of their own imprint to this by-now-familiar sound. But for one, they do it really well — listening to this album is an all-encompassing journey, and nit-picking about who they sound like doesn't cross your mind until well after it's over and you're safely back on earth. For another thing, keep in mind that this is their friggin' debut — they're already on par with the masters of this style, and they've got nowhere to go but up.

You know if you like this kind of headtrip, and if you do, ROSETTA comes highly recommended. Shoot this one out into a galaxy near YOB, NEUROSIS or CULT OF LUNA, somewhere where everything is frozen and the glare of supernovae blows the mind of even the most hardened traveler. Outer space metal epics, cold and alone, urgent yet sprawling, and utterly immersive. If anyone out there does get both discs going at once, let me know – unless it rips the time-space continuum, in which case I'll see you in hell.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).