The Unborn Dead EP

Helldprod & Murder
rating icon 7 / 10

Track listing:

01. Ripped from the Cross (GROTESQUE cover)
02. My Agony, My Ecstasy (NOVEMBERS DOOM cover)

Netherlands death metal squad SINISTER are back once again and ramping up a serious campaign behind their latest full-length, "The Post-Apocalyptic Servant". Spreading themselves across different labels to apparently get their thrashing onslaught delivered to as many blackened souls as possible, "The Post-Apocalyptic Servant" comes courtesy of their current home at Massacre Records. Meanwhile, Metal Mind Productions (which once sent out an encompassing SINISTER box set) is again reissuing two albums from SINISTER's back catalog on gold discs, 1998's "Aggressive Measures" and 2006's "Afterburner".

Now comes "The Unborn Dead" through Helldprod & Murder Records, a two-track covers EP that's only for SINISTER diehards who wouldn't think of letting any release slip away from their collections.

First up is a slightly rawer version of GROTESQUE's "Ripped from the Cross", largely smothered by vocalist (and former drummer) Adrie "Aad" Kloosterwaard's heavy barfing. As SINISTER's lineup has been ripped and reassembled numerous times following their temporary breakup in 2003, the sound of the band has naturally been altered. They're no less brutal, yet the favoring of Aad's gruesome belching overtop Dennis Hartog and Bastiaan Brussaard's winding shreds makes their otherwise faithful cover of "Ripped from the Cross" less of a ride and more of a mere obligation to hang with it. The tag guitar solos are a great touch, but there's nothing to SINISTER's version other than mere tribute with charbroiled vocals to accent the accolade.

Their take on NOVEMBERS DOOM's "My Agony, My Ecstasy" is pretty damned heavy with the guitars mingling alongside Mathijs Brussaard's grueling bass and Aad's bellowing, which is at least scaled back to let the guitar front take precedence. Guest vocalist Rebecca Duin weaves haunted backing sirens and takes over the track in her spots. SINISTER accurately fields "My Agony, My Ecstasy" while dirtying the thing all to hell. It's a shivery, massive homage to NOVEMBERS DOOM that should please fans of either band to pieces.

Helldprod & Murder is releasing "The Unborn Dead" in very limited quantities on black and red vinyl, so you'll want to move quickly if you're a devoted SINISTER fan.

Author: Ray Van Horn, Jr.
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).