Visible Noise
rating icon 6 / 10

Track listing:

01. Art, Emotion, Religion
02. Figure of 8ight
03. G.od O.n D.rugs
04. 2 Tribes
05. This Is the N.E.W.S.
06. Spiritual Darkness
07. The Way of All Flesh
08. Trinity
09. Heal the Separation
10. Guided by Voices

Once hailed as one of the country's brightest nu-metal hopefuls, the UK's KILL II THIS were fully expected to deliver the album of their career on their third offering, the follow-up to the critically-acclaimed Deviate CD (1998). Unfortunately, the band's latest release has fallen far short of this achievement. 


Produced, once again, by Andy Sneap (the man-of-the-moment when it comes to guitar-heavy production),Trinity hints at some of the more adventurous moments that made Deviate such a promising effort, with the title track and "Guided by Voices" featuring some exciting female/male vocal interplay that adds a different dimension to the group's otherwise more conservative songwriting approach. All too often, however, KILL II THIS come across as about five years too late (sort of like early MACHINE HEAD without the songs),with plenty of downtuned groove riffs at every turn, but with no memorable hooks (something that vocalist Matt Pollock's Hetfield-on-acid growling style is largely to blame for) or depth to their testosterone-driven metal, a point that is particularly evident in the first half of the album. 


Until KILL II THIS can expand upon their obvious talents and begin taking more serious risks with their music, they are destined to remain a second-rate outfit merely flirting with greatness. Maybe next time they can finally get it right.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).