Century Media
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Accompanied by Death
02. Blankness
03. Culture of Fear
04. Accelerate or Die
05. Stamp of Credence
06. Survival Scars
07. Vulcanus
08. Soul Consumer
09. Both Blood
10. Gates to Nowhere
11. Lost in Black
12. Wasteland

Germany's FEAR MY THOUGHTS has been honing their musical form on each release, making the term "progression" a most fitting description for what has occurred on the basically traditional thrash of "The Great Collapse" to the more varied work (keys, melodic development) of "Hell Sweet Hell", both released on Lifeforce. Century Media recognized the potential and has recently released "Vulcanus". This time the band retains its core thrash delivery and brings together an effective mix of aggression with varied songwriting and perhaps the most compelling melodies yet.

A first rate production courtesy of Jacob Hansen (ABORTED, MERCENARY) gives the disc a thick and chunky sound, a tight and crisp rhythm section, and the rubbery low-end that has characterized the flawless mixes of so many modern Swedish melodic death/thrash acts. Songs like "Accompanied by Death", "Accelerate or Die" (featuring DESTRUCTION's Schmier on bass/vocals and Mike Sifringer on guitar) "Lost in Black", and "Survival Scars" pack a lethal punch with a heavy thrash approach. Sometimes accented with death metal elements (the occasional death vocal, etc),the tunes are always held together with more than a modicum of melody. It is on "Blankness" and "Gates to Nowhere" that the band most successfully combines a modern thrash approach with extremely catchy choruses. Other tracks, such as "Culture of Fear" and "Wasteland" incorporate the light with the heavy, accenting the compositions with sweetly picked guitars, tough riffing, and keyboard nuances. The five-minute title track is an instrumental that sort of brings together all of the elements, including a classic organ sound and a bluesy, wah-pedal enhanced solo to close out the track. Incidentally, the keyboards on the album are played by Kim Oelsen (ANUBIS GATES) who has assisted the band on previous efforts.

Look for "Vulcanus" to catapult FEAR MY THOUGHTS into that select group of modern and melodic thrash/death metal artists commonly recognized by discerning fans the world over. Though "Vulcanus" does not bring a great deal to the table that has not been done before, the album is undeniably one of the better examples of the form you are likely to hear this year.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).