What the Mind Perceives

Screaming Ferret/Escapi
rating icon 6.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Rise Above the Weak
02. Fleshwound
03. The Scars That Remain
04. Is This Life
05. The Sick
06. Wasteland
07. Darkest Days
08. Scattered Thoughts
09. Prophecies of the Dead
10. What the Mind Perceives

This New Jersey death metal band has been busting its ass since 2000, releasing music, garnering press accolades and touring with no help from others. That changes now as Screaming Ferret steps in to reissue the band's 2003 album "What the Mind Perceives" to a worldwide audience.

It's always nice to see a hardworking band, particularly in a thankless genre and climate, get a little bit of a leg up. But it's frustrating when trappings of the band's low-budget past still hinder them — to be specific, the production on "What the Mind Perceives", while clear, is thin and anemic, rendering their melodic guitar lines and tasteful drumming too muted, and further flattening the already somewhat one-dimensional vocals. I'm reminded of when the otherwise-decent Texas band DEEP came out a few years ago — any hint of interest in their debut album was killed by a boring, muffled production that made everything sound the same, and the reviews (and sales) reacted accordingly. Since then, not much has been heard out of DEEP.
BEYOND THE FLESH aren't quite that bad off here. Opener "Rise Above the Weak" is a simple, catchy affair with tasty melodic guitar lines a bridge that features both blast beats and some refreshing bass soloing. There's a lot of thrash in their sound, and hints of everything from DEATH to CARCASS to early black metal and old IN FLAMES in some of the riffing styles.

The most impressive thing about BEYOND THE FLESH is their consistent, efficient songwriting. They're indulgent with solos and they spit out more riffs in every direction than a DARK ANGEL album in a cyclotron, but there's not a wasted note here. They betray a wide range of influences, from the deathcore stomp and pinch harmonics in the verse of "The Sick" to the brief acoustic interlude in "Scattered Thoughts", without sounding too “prog" or intentionally overreaching. At the end of the day, this is still solid meat-and-potatoes death metal, just spiced up with some flourishes.

I find myself liking BEYOND THE FLESH's approach, but losing interest after a few tracks. The melodic guitar runs start to sound the same quickly, and the aforementioned flat production does little to distinguish one song from another, despite the diversity they throw in. Songs toward the end like "Scattered Thoughts" aren't bad, they just fail to inspire any excitement. I want to like BEYOND THE FLESH more than I do, and I'll definitely be watching to see how they've developed when they get the chance to make a new album showcasing their growth since 2003. But the fact remains that, despite the impressive effort, "What the Mind Perceives" just leaves me a little underwhelmed.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).