01. Screaming
02. Nightmare
03. All I Got
04. I Need Love
05. How Can I Tell You?
06. I'm Alive
07. Don't Waste My Time
08. If You Cut Me
09. Save Me
10. Witchcraft
11. How Long?
12. Abyss

RATING: 6/10

Solid. Sturdy. Workmanlike. These are three adjectives you could apply to many British NWOBHM/melodic rock acts and albums through the ages, and if LIONSHEART frontman Steve Grimmett hasn't hit the heights amidst such a misfiring scene, he's at least spread himself right across it by appearing in demon-obsessed metallers GRIM REAPER, ONSLAUGHT, and since the mid-Nineties the most "commercially-minded" of those bands, LIONSHEART.

Notice that we didn't stretch to words such as "spectacular," "mind-blowing" or "awesome" in that opening line, and that's because, in truth, you always feel slightly short-changed by the output of many of these very British institutions (the album cover art here manages again to work in a recurring Union jack theme). And "Abyss" certainly isn't going to alter that perception.

Several years on from their previous album, "Under Fire", the performance on this, their fourth album, is much as it ever was — and if we may repeat ourselves: Solid. Sturdy. Workmanlike. But maybe it isn't enough that opener "Screaming" is simply a likeable display of galloping guitars, or that "Save Me", with its underlying stroll onto the bluesy side of rock is merely not bad, or that dark power-ballad, "I Need Love", strums all the right chords without really managing to even tweak at your heartstrings.

At a push, perhaps "All I Got" and "Witchcraft" fare more favorably because they lean more towards the thrusting, mid-paced end of the rock spectrum. Otherwise, "Abyss" often walks that fine line between perfectly acceptable musical technique and being just, well, half-decent. Even though principal figure Grimmett has a longer history within his genre than perhaps Fred Durst could ever hope to have in his — a few million dollars of royalties notwithstanding — he still arguably hasn't mastered the art of making his music overall shoot off fireworks. That said, if there's any part of "Abyss" that actually attempts to any degree to light the blue touch paper, it's the voice of Grimmett. Contrary to what underground hard rock aficionados might have you believe, he doesn't possess the exquisite pipes of a particularly raw-throated angel — but does know how to maneuver himself on the likes of "I'm Alive" to at least lend the whole affair a bit more character and variation.

Maybe time has caught up with this type of rock, and if Grimmett isn't prepared to resort to something vaguely radical at some point, he may find himself left behind with a reputation that albums such as "Abyss" never quite managed to live up to.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).