AMORAL: 'Rude Awakening' Video Released

February 5, 2016

"Rude Awakening", the new video from the Finnish metal sextet AMORAL, can be seen below. The song is taken from the band's seventh studio album, "In Sequence", which was released on February 5 through Imperial Cassette (Gordeon Music, GSA).

The cover artwork for the follow-up to the critically acclaimed "Fallen Leaves & Dead Sparrows" was designed by Aki Siltala, who is also one of the most well-known tattoo artists in Finland.

"In Sequence" track listing:

01. In Sequence (Prologue)
02. Rude Awakening
03. The Betrayal
04. Sounds Of Home
05. The Next One To Go
06. Helping Hands
07. Defuse The Past
08. From The Beginning (The Note Part 2)

Said guitarist Ben Varon: "We went into making the seventh album with an Yngwie Malmsteen state of mind: more is more! Once we got our original singer Niko Kalliojärvi back in the band — expanding the group into a six-headed monster, with two vocalists and three guitar players — it was time to start the writing process, which was one of the most inspiring ones for me so far. More guitar parts, more keyboards, more back and forth between clean and growling vocals."

Another angle used to get a fresh touch for "In Sequence" was the decision to invite a whole bunch of guest musicians — including percussionist Teho Majamäki, INDICA singer Jonsu and ACYL singer/mastermind Amine Benotmane — to play on the album, which was a first for AMORAL.

Stated Ben: "The album is filled with stellar guest performances from many talented musicians, who added percussion, female vocals, analog syths and ouds to the songs, amongst other things. The guests definitely helped take the songs to the next level."

He added: "To me, 'In Sequence' is the logical follow-up to 'Fallen Leaves & Dead Sparrows', on which we took our love for grandieuse prog to new hights. 'In Sequence' continues on that path, though the return of Niko gives the new material some of that old school AMORAL vibe. And I think this one turned out a touch heavier as well, not least because of the real-life based concept of the album."


Find more on Amoral
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).