AMORPHIS Announces 'Tales From The Thousand Lakes (Live At Tavastia)' Album And Concert Film

May 16, 2024

The 30th anniversary of AMORPHIS's landmark album "Tales From The Thousand Lakes" is celebrated with a live recording that sets new standards in terms of brilliance and intensity. This unique release, available on Blu-ray+CD and vinyl, was recorded at the iconic Tavastia club in Helsinki, Finland, in chronological order. Available from July 12, 2024 via Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM),"Tales From The Thousand Lakes (Live At Tavastia)" manifests AMORPHIS's unparalleled dynamism and artistic uniqueness. Rarely has the raw power and emotional depth of a live performance been captured so authentically as on this sonic memento and extraordinary concert film.

Get in the mood for the upcoming "Tales..." celebrations, and watch the "Drowned Maid" live video, which is also part of the forthcoming Blu-ray below.

"'Drowned Maid' is classic '90s crossover AMORPHIS. Retrospectively, sporting primitive keyboards and sound effects, the marriage of doomy death metal and folk-prog somehow does the trick," recalls bassist Olli-Pekka Laine. "This song was a live favourite back then, and it's still a pleasure to play it to this day!"

"Tales From The Thousand Lakes (Live At Tavastia)" track listing:

01. Thousand Lakes
02. Into Hiding
03. The Castaway
04. First Doom
05. Black Winter Day
06. Drowned Maid
07. In The Beginning
08. Forgotten Sunrise
09. To Father's Cabin
10. Magic And Mayhem
11. Vulgar Necrolatry
12. My Kantele

In a recent interview with RichardMetalFan, AMORPHIS drummer Jan Rechberger spoke about the band's plans for the follow-up to 2022's "Halo" album. He said: " Well, there is ideas and some schedules coming. So it would be fair to say that the next record will be out somewhere during next year. So I think probably after we're done with some touring with 'Halo', 'cause there's still some touring left, [we'll] probably hit the studio with a new producer somewhere November, December this year, I guess. So there's some writing happening at this very moment. And, yeah, it's coming your way."

AMORPHIS's fourteenth studio album, "Halo" came out in February 2022 via Atomic Fire Records.

Produced by Jens Bogren, "Halo" was previously described in a press release as "progressive, melodic, and quintessentially melancholic heavy masterwork."

As had been the case with AMORPHIS albums in the past, "Halo" featured the imaginative and poetic storytelling of renowned lyricist and "Kalevala" expert Pekka Kainulainen.

Two years ago, AMORPHIS guitarist and founding member Esa Holopainen told Westword that the band is "not as radical" as it once was.

"Back in the day, I think we did too much of what we wanted to do," he said. "For us as musicians, we needed to do that, because we never wanted to get stuck in one form. Today we blend all the new nuances and influences pretty nicely into our music. Even though there's a lot of different elements from different genres and the musical world, even from ethnic music, I have to say, we're pretty good to blend all of those elements into our music without sounding too different."

Find more on Amorphis
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).