ANTHRAX's 'Caught In A Mosh' Like You've Never Heard It Before, Courtesy Of DRIVING MRS. SATAN

June 2, 2014

DRIVING MRS. SATAN, the London/Naples-based acoustic trio which reinterprets famous metal songs in a unique acoustic style, released its debut album, "Popscotch", last August via Agualoca Records. The CD features covers of old metal classics from the likes of AC/DC, SLAYER, IRON MAIDEN, FAITH NO MORE and more performed with female vocals, acoustic guitars and double bass.

DRIVING MRS. SATAN makes room for quiet into the history of heavy metal, borrowing lyrics and melodies from long-haired '80s hard rock, conditioner-only-washing them into the whispered politeness of indie pop, and rinsing them with the passion of jazzy, sound centered, avant-pop.

Claudia Sorvillo's unique voice is at once erotic and ethereal, transforming ferocious, macabre stories into joyful tales and cosy serenades through Ernesto Nobili's carefully interweaved guitars and trembling vocals, and Giacomo Pedicini's beautifully crafted double bass structures. In the midst of a house change in a record-hot summer, Giacomo's love for heavy metal re-emerged, and he began to re-envisage the songs that made him decide to become a musician in the first place. He found a perfect harmonic companion in Ernesto and they asked Claudia to lay down vocals on a song she never heard before in its original form, HELLOWEEN's "I Want Out". DRIVING MRS. SATAN was born. The song was released online in April of 2012 together with other four: AC/DC's "Hells Bells", BLACK SABBATH's "Never Say Die" and JUDAS PRIEST's "Living After Midnight". After that, they prepared a full record and a live show to bring their music into people's life and out of the studio.

"Popscotch" track listing:

01. I Want Out (HELLOWEEN)
02. Battery (METALLICA)
03. Killers (IRON MAIDEN)
04. Caught In A Mosh (ANTHRAX)
05. Killed By Death (MOTÖRHEAD)
06. Hells Bells (AC/DC)
07. 2 Minutes To Midnight (IRON MAIDEN)
08. Can I Play With Madness (IRON MAIDEN)
09. Never Say Die (BLACK SABBATH)
10. South Of Heaven (SLAYER)
11. From Out Of Nowhere (FAITH NO MORE)

The official video for DRIVING MRS. SATAN's cover version of ANTHRAX's "Caught In A Mosh" can be seen below.


Claudia Sorvillo - Vocals
Giacomo Pedicini - Double Bass
Ernesto Nobili – Acoustic and Classical Guitars, Ukulele, Backing Vocals


Find more on Anthrax
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).