Archive News Mar 09, 2001 - update 3

March 9, 2001

Russ Anderson, the former vocalist for the late '80s thrash metal legends FORBIDDEN, has resurfaced in a 'straight-ahead rock'n'roll' outfit out of the San Francisco Bay Area by the name of PARKING LOT PROPHETS. More information on the group and their nine-song CD can be obtained via the band's official web site.


ENGORGED have parted ways with vocalist Akkad and have opted to not look for a replacement, with all vocal duties being presently handled by remaining members of the band. ENGORGED will be entering Black Lake Studios on March 24th to record their brand new CD for Necropolis / Deathvomit Records, due out in the summer. The following tracks will be appearing on the as-yet-untitled release:


01. March Of The Engorged

02. The Dreadnaught

03. From Beyond The House Of The Dead

04. Death Metal Attack Part 3

05. Slithis

06. Beerguts

07. Eaten Alive!

08. Herbert West: Re-Animator

09. Shockwaves

10. Cobra Rage

11. White Line Nightmare

12. Saga Of The Dead


EIDOLON's latest studio release, Hallowed Apparition, will be available via Metal Blade Records on June 6th.


L.A. GUNS will release their new CD, Man in the Moon, through Spitfire Records on April 24th. Mavericks of the late '80's L.A. strip metal scene, with six million worldwide album sales to their credit, L.A. GUNS are back with the original line-up, including Phil Lewis (vocals),Tracii Guns (guitar),Mick Cripps (guitar),Steve Riley (drums) and newest member Muddy on bass. Produced by former GUNS N' ROSES guitarist Gilby Glarke, Man In The Moon is a riff-driven, in-your-face, heavy blues-rock record. The band, re-united and stronger than ever, is very proud of the ten tracks that make up Man in the Moon. As drummer Steve Riley states, '…it's a basic late '60's, early '70's feel, a bare rock 'n' roll album, and I feel it stands up to anything we've ever done.'


FLOTSAM &amp JETSAM's new studio album, My God, is scheduled for a May 22nd release through Metal Blade Records.


GAMMA RAY have finished the recording and the mixing of the three new songs (plus one cover version) that are going to appear as the new single prior to the release of the forthcoming studio album. The single will contain the following brand new tracks:


01. Solid

02. Heaven Or Hell

03. Illuminates (or alternatively Illuminati)

04. Angel Of Death (THIN LIZZY cover)


'Angel Of Death' will be exclusive to this single and will not appear on the upcoming album, which is still untitled. The new single is expected to be released in late May/early June.


Meanwhile, guitarist/vocalist Kai Hansen will play his last show as a member of IRON SAVIOR on July 27th at the Rock Machine festival near Valencia in Spain. According to an official press release issued by IRON SAVIOR on March 7th, all five members are quick to point out that 'we haven't had a falling out, we haven't had arguments, and there is not bad blood at all. We are still firm friends and in order to keep our friendship alive, we had to make this decision even though it might seem a bit unpopular. We felt it was necessary, though.' The reason that led to the split is obviously located in the difficulties to coordinate the activities of IRON SAVIOR and GAMMA RAY so that Kai could be with both bands. Coming to a good solution had become more and more problematic lately and according to Piet and Kai, 'we would have come to the point sooner or later where our friendship would have started to suffer. And we are not willing to take this risk'. IRON SAVIOR definitely want to carry on working with three guitarists and will start looking for a new recruit soon.


BLOOD RED THRONE, featuring Tchort (ex-EMPEROR / SATYRICON),has signed with Hammerheart Records and will start recording its new album in April at DUB Studio in Norway. Mixing and mastering will be done by Henrik Larsson at Berno Studio in Sweden (THE HAUNTED, VOMITORY). The following tracks are set to appear on the as-yet-untitled album:


01. Ravenous War Machine

02. The Children Shall Endure

03. Mary Whispers of Death

04. Dream Contolled Murder

05. Portrait of a Killer

06. Souls of Damnation

07. Path of Flesh

08. Monument of Death


Danish death metal outfit EXMORTEM have just signed to Hammerheart Records and will be releasing their third album, Berserker Legions, in May.


Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).