Archive News Mar 18, 2001 - update 1

March 18, 2001

MACHINE HEAD have entered Mad Dog Studios in Los Angeles with producer Johnny K (DISTURBED, NO ONE, SOIL) to begin recording their fourth full-length album, entitled Supercharger. The band will spend two weeks at Mad Dog Studios laying down the basic tracks (drums, bass, some rhythm guitars) before heading to the Indigo Ranch Studio in Malibu (where The Burning Red was recorded) for overdubs (vocals, guitars, etc.).


Nearly 20 songs were completed during the songwriting sessions for the album, with several of the tracks featuring a noticeably more aggressive vibe than was the case with the group's last studio offering. However, contrary to the recent rumors, MACHINE HEAD have not opted to return to the Burn My Eyes school of songwriting for the new record, but have instead taken the elements that made The Burning Red one of the most underrated metal albums of the last decade and combined it with several new ingredients to create a crushingly heavy-yet-infectiously-melodic mix that should please fans of all of the group's previous releases.


Here is a run-down of some of the tracks that are being recorded during the Supercharger sessions (please note that some of these are working titles that will likely change in the album's final sequence):


01. Bulldozer

02. White Knuckle Blackout

03. American High

04. Crashing Around You

05. Nuclear Religion (formerly 'The Drive')

06. Kick You When You're Down

07. All In Your Head

08. Deafening Silence

09. Finger Tap

10. Egypt

11. Once You See

12. Little Pig

13. Enemy

14. Ten Fold

15. Rat Race

Los Angeles' MEDICATION, featuring former MACHINE HEAD / SOULFLY guitarist Logan Mader, ex-UGLY KID JOE / LIFE OF AGONY vocalist Whitfield Crane, ex-ADAYINTHELIFE guitarist Blunt, and ex-SOULFY drummer Roy Mayorga, are reportedly self-financing the recording of a full-length CD, to be released through an as-yet-undetermined label later in the year. Song titles set to appear on the as-yet-untitled CD include:


01. Clouded

02. Something New

03. Number 8

04. Underwater

05. I Am The Same

06. Chosen

07. Xanax

SLAYER are completing the recording process for their forthcoming album (possible working title: Soundtracks Of The Apocalypse) at Warehouse Studios in Vancouver with producer Matt Hyde. 17 songs have been reportedly been written for the record, with 14 due to be included in the final sequence and the remainder to be used as bonus tracks or b-sides/EP cuts. Working song titles include:


01. Threshold

02. Disciple

03. Addict

04. Exile

05. Payback

06. Seven Faces

07. Godsend Death

08. New Faith

09. Deviance

10. Scarstruck

11. Here Comes The Pain

12. Gore Point

13. Warzone


The album is tentatively scheduled to be released in May, to be followed by the band's North American tour with PANTERA, STATIC-X and MORBID ANGEL (other rumored acts on the bill include C.O.C., HALFORD, and SKRAPE),which is set to start in June.

SUPERFIX, the Los Angeles-based band formed out of the ashes of DRAIN STH, are still in the process of writing and demoing material, which is said to contain 'more loops' and is 'more uptempo' than the DRAIN STH songs. According to former DRAIN STH drummer Martina Axen (who is singing in the new group),'we have no intention to make a 'DRAIN number two' version—that really wouldn't be any fun. But I wrote [the vocal] melodies and most off the lyrics [in DRAIN STH] and (bassist) Anna (Kjellberg) did a lot of the music, so I'm sure [fans of DRAIN STH] will recognize the sound of the new stuff.' SUPERFIX recently did some pre-production recording in Sweden, but 'since we tend to write 10 songs and then dump nine of them,' according to Martina, the band are not expecting to begin recording their debut album until the end of May. In addition to Axen, SUPERFIX features Kjellberg on guitar, with as-yet-unspecified musicians assisting the duo in the studio. The band's web site ( is still in the works and should be up and running shortly.


In related news, former DRAIN STH guitarist Flavia Canel has spent the last few months setting up a new life for herself in Brooklyn, New York with her new husband, who is said to have been part of the road crew that was traveling with DRAIN STH during some of the group's many road jaunts across the US. Flavia is also looking to start a new band, and she has asked interested musicians that think they've got what it takes to contact her about possibly auditioning for the group. All demos and photos should be sent to: 4809 Ave. N Box 388, Brooklyn, NY 11234, USA. As for former DRAIN STH vocalist Maria Sjoholm, contrary to previous press reports, she has not tied the knot with BLACK SABBATH mainman Tony Iommi, but is said to be happily living with him on a farm in the UK, 'surrounded by chickens' and enjoying the domesticated life. The couple are said to be engaged, but have not yet set a date for their wedding.

The subject of a recent major-label bidding war, San Francisco's WURKT appear to have decided on producer Josh Abraham's 143 Records as the home for their future recordings, with the band tentatively scheduled to enter the studio before the summer to record their debut album for the label. Consisting of Josh Robinson (vocals),Toby Seeger (guitars),Guy Gates (bass) and Geoff Eckert (drums),WURKT are continuing to play out in the SF Bay and surrounding areas in preparation for the CD's recording. Upcoming shows include:


Mar 31 - Phoenix Theatre, Petaluma, CA (w/NATT)


WURKT's as-yet-untitled debut CD will likely include the following tracks (among others):


01. Misdirected

02. Ego

03. Faithful

04. Bruised

05. LBT

Ex-SMASHING PUMPKINS frontman Billy Corgan will reportedly be making a guest appearance on a track on the upcoming NEW ORDER album. NEW ORDER bassist Peter Hook recently stated to unofficial website,, 'Billy Corgan is guesting on a track, which we are finishing today. Everything's going really well, touch wood.'


Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).