Archive News May 21, 2001

May 21, 2001

Quote of the day belongs to LIMP BIZKIT's Wes Borland, who made the following statement to Metal Edge magazine on the subject of LINKIN PARK's influence on up-and-coming bands: 'People should just open it up a little bit and realize that LINKIN PARK is not the only band out there. LINKIN PARK are like third-generation musical incest. They are like the son of a son of a son. It just sucks.'

GODFLESH will be issuing a two-CD retrospective through Earache Records on June 18th entitled In All Languages, which will showcase tracks from the group's earliest releases right up to 1998's Us &amp Them set, along with rare cuts, remixes and B-sides. Also included will be three previously unreleased remixes by mainman Justin Broadrick, as well as a 'f.cked-up' 'Clubdub edit' mix of 'Xynobis'. The full track listing for the set is as follows:


CD 1 - Flesh Of God

01. Avalanche Master Song

02. Like Rats

03. Streetcleaner

04. Slateman

05. Slavestate *

06. Mothra *

07. Spite *

08. Pure *

09. Xynobis

10. Crush My Soul

11. Anything Is Mine

12. Circle Of Sh.t

13. Frail

14. I, Me, Mine

15. The Internal


CD 2 - Beyond The Flesh

01. Love Is A Dog From Hell

02. Crush My Soul (Ultramix edit) *

03. Flowers

04. Tiny Tears (BBC Session)

05. Pulp (BBC Session)

06. Newspite

07. Empyreal 2

08. Blind

09. Slavestate (Radioslave)*

10. Gift From Heaven Breakbeat

11. Xynobis (Clubdub - edit) **

12. Witchhunt - (Tyrant Mix) ***

13. Us &amp Them&nbsp (Defensive Mix)***


* Remastered tracks

** Previously unreleased remix, newly remastered

*** Previously unreleased - exclusive remix


The two-CD set is accompanied by a full booklet with a revealing interview with Justin Broadrick. Earache Records have also announced plans to issue an accompanying In All Languages DVD, which will include all five of the band's promo videos, available for the first time on DVD at a special low price. The five songs featured are as follows:


01. Avalanche Master Song

02. Christbait Rising

03. Slavestate

04. Mothra

05. Crush My Soul

Finland's H.I.M. will be issuing their third full-length album, entitled Deep Shadows And Brilliant Highlights, on August 27th, 2001. Meanwhile, the first single off the album, 'Pretending', is still scheduled for a July 2nd release, to be preceded by the European TV premiere of a video clip for the track, the filming of which is reportedly taking place within the next couple of weeks. Look for the video in the second half of June.

Sweden's TAD MOROSE will be entering the studio the third week of June to record their brand new studio album, to be released through Century Media Records at the end of the year.

Swedish thrashers THE CROWN, fresh off their debut live appearance with new vocalist Tomas Lindberg (ex-AT THE GATES) at the Decibel Festival this past weekend, have announced that they will be performing at the upcoming Dist 2001 Festival, which is scheduled to take place July 20-21.

According to several quotes that were attributed to VAN HALEN guitarist Eddie Van Halen and published in yesterday's New York Post, the three tracks VAN HALEN recorded last July with former vocalist Dave Lee Roth will 'probably' get scrapped, with the band remaining without a vocalist and presently 'in flux'. 'The band has always been together,'' Eddie reportedly stated. 'Whether we have a singer or not is a different story. ... Depends what we do.'' The guitarist also commented on reports that he's suffering from cancer by saying that 'I'm really not ready to talk about it because there was never even a press release. I just wanted to let our fans know that I'm fine. Yes I have cancer ... but I ain't got nothing to talk about until it's gone.'' He then reportedly whispered into the tape recorder: 'I have treatment every day.''

In the 'we-kid-you-not' department, DEEP PURPLE have reportedly accepted an invitation to perform a couple of songs at Parco Novi Sad in Modena, Italy on Tuesday May 29th, as part of a Pavarotti &amp Friends show in aid of Afghanistan. According to vocalist Ian Gillan's official web site, Ian will also be joining Luciano Pavarotti to sing 'Nessun Dorma'. Other artists on the bill include Tom Jones and Barry White.

Former DEEP PURPLE guitarist Ritchie Blackmore and his 'companion' Candice Night are reportedly finishing work on the BLACKMORE'S NIGHT CD, entitled Fires At Midnight, in a 'castle where they get the right atmosphere for this magical music', according to the guitarist's official web site. Fires At Midnight is tentatively scheduled for release in Japan on Pony Canyon Records on June 20th, Europe on SPV/Steamhammer Records on July 2nd, and North America on SPV Records USA on July 10th.

THE REVOLUTION SMILE, featuring former FAR guitarist Shaun Lopez, recently completed a five-song recording that will be issued as a mini-CD in July. The full track listing for the CD is as follows:


01. Cadillac

02. The Gift

03. Indiana Feeling

04. Hollywood

05. V8

SICK SPEED, featuring STUCK MOJO's Rich Ward on vocals/guitar, Mike 'Happy' Schneider on guitar/vocals, STUCK MOJO's Dan Dryden on bass/vocals, and STUCK MOJO's Bud Fontsere on drums, will be performing the following gigs during June:


June 02 - Chattanooga, TN @ The Bay

June 22 - Tampa, FL @ Frankie's Patio


Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).