BAD RELIGION And REFUSED Members Join Forces In FAKE NAMES: Debut Album Due In May

March 25, 2020

Punk rock supergroup FAKE NAMES — which includes Brian Baker (MINOR THREAT, DAG NASTY, BAD RELIGION),Michael Hampton (S.O.A., EMBRACE, ONE LAST WISH),Dennis Lyxzén (REFUSED, INTERNATIONAL NOISE CONSPIRACY, INVSN),and Johnny Temple (GIRLS AGAINST BOYS, SOULSIDE) — will release its self-titled debut record on May 8 via Epitaph.

FAKE NAMES was formed in early 2016 when Baker and Hampton met up at Hampton's Brooklyn home to play music together, with no intentions beyond possibly writing a song or two. Friends since first grade, the two guitarists ended up writing a handful of songs that day, and then closed out the session with a spontaneous decision to start a band. When it came to finding a bassist, Baker and Hampton looked to Temple, a fellow classmate from their elementary school. Later that year at Chicago's Riot Fest, both Baker and Temple were struck with the sudden inspiration to recruit Lyxzén as their singer.

On their self-titled debut, FAKE NAMES bring their collective history to a 28-minute burst of unbridled energy. Co-produced by Hampton and Geoff Sanoff and recorded at Renegade Studios (a New York City facility owned by Little Steven Van Zandt),the album augments their bare-bones breed of punk with a heavy dose of power-pop, cleanly manifested in the band's bittersweet melodies and abundant backup harmonies.

Today, FAKE NAMES share their energetic single "Brick", a classic punk anthem complete with chant-along chorus and revolution-minded lyrics.

"Fake Names" track listing:

01. All For Sale
02. Driver
03. Being Them
04. Brick
05. Darkest Days
06. Heavy Feather
07. First Everlasting
08. This Is Nothing
09. Weight
10. Lost Cause

Photo by Glen E. Friedman

Find more on Bad religion
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).