BLACK STAR RIDERS Share New Single 'Pay Dirt'

September 7, 2022

The new BLACK STAR RIDERS album, titled "Wrong Side Of Paradise", will be released on Friday, January 20, 2023 via Earache Records. The LP's latest single, "Pay Dirt", can be streamed below.

BLACK STAR RIDERS frontman Ricky Warwick states: "We are overjoyed to be able to give you another track from our upcoming album 'Wrong Side Of Paradise'. 'Pay Dirt' is available for your listening pleasure on your favorite streaming service now. Christian Martucci and the late Todd Youth wrote the music for this. And when I heard it, it stank with defiance and attitude. It didn't need changing, just some words to echo the power of the chords. It's an ode to rock 'n' roll... but also a dig at those that don't learn their art and don't play from the heart!! Rock 'n' roll is my lover, friend, enemy, ally, religion and savior. Rock 'n' roll is my life. We hope you love it."

"Wrong Side Of Paradise", featuring 11 tracks, was recorded in the fall of 2021 at Studio 606 in Northridge, California and Toochtoon Sound in Redmond, Oregon with producer and longtime BLACK STAR RIDERS associate Jay Ruston.

Plenty of formats are available for pre-order, including limited colored vinyl (green, blue, red and black/white split),black vinyl, signed CD, cassette and digital download. A special edition of the album containing two bonus tracks can be found on CD (which comes with a 24-page booklet) and USB stick formats. Various collector bundles are also available.

The official music video for the LP's first single, "Better Than Saturday Night", featuring backing vocals from DEF LEPPARD's Joe Elliott, can be seen below.

Warwick previously said about "Better Than Saturday Night": "'Better Than Saturday Night' is a feel-good, uplifting tune about staying strong in the face of adversity, being true to yourself, and the power of positivity. I wrote it for my kids, but subliminally I think I also wrote it for myself and everyone for those days when we need to find a little bit of extra strength. We wanted to reflect the positivity, power, attitude and strength to endure sentiment in the lyrics of the song. And no better way to do that than BLACK STAR RIDERS rockin' out with the Los Angeles Roller Derby Dolls."

About the album, Ricky added: "I am very proud of this record, BLACK STAR RIDERS' fifth release and the first with our new and exciting relationship with Earache Records. As with all BSR albums, 'Wrong Side Of Paradise' is an anthemic statement of intent, driven by ferocious guitars and thundering drums. I can only write about my own personal experiences, my families, my friends and how I see a world that is unraveling and changing faster than we can comprehend. That being said, I'm a firm believer in the power of positivity, something that echoes throughout this album."

"Wrong Side Of Paradise" track listing:

01. Wrong Side Of Paradise
02. Hustle
03. Better Than Saturday Night
04. Riding Out The Storm
05. Pay Dirt
06. Catch Yourself On
07. Crazy Horses
08. Burning Rome
09. Don't Let The World
10. Green And Troubled Land
11. This Life Will Be The Death Of Me

In addition to releasing the new record, BLACK STAR RIDERS have some special plans to celebrate their 10th anniversary next year.

"Can you believe 2023 is 10 years of BLACK STAR RIDERS?" Warwick said. "How time flies while you are having fun! We decided to do something special to commemorate this occasion. For the U.K. tour only, to coincide with the album's release, we will be bringing back the legendary Scott Gorham (guitar) and Jimmy DeGrasso (drums) for the dates to make them extra special!"

“As we all know, the worldwide pandemic has changed so many things in all our lives, and when we brought Christian Martucci into the fold in 2018, we had planned to work the BSR cycle in rotation with Christian's Corey Taylor / STONE SOUR gig so he could do both. The two-year break in live music has unfortunately put paid to this plan and Christian has had to leave BLACK STAR RIDERS to concentrate on his work with Corey. We wish him all the best and he will forever remain part of the BSR family."

BLACK STAR RIDERS start their U.K. tour in Nottingham on February 13, 2023 in a tour package that includes very special guests Michael Monroe and PHIL CAMPBELL AND THE BASTARD SONS.

Find more on Black star riders
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).