BORKNAGAR: More Footage From The Studio Posted Online

January 8, 2010

The fourth in a series of video clips featuring footage from the recording sessions for BORKNAGAR's new album, "Universal", can be viewed below. Due on February 22 in Europe and March 2 in North America through Indie Recordings, the effort will be made available in four different formats: regular jewelcase CD, limited digipack (including bonus disc),CD box with extras and gatefold LP with double vinyl.

Commented the band: "We are really proud to finally reveal the cover for 'Universal'. It has been a long process to circle in and establish the perfect visual approach for this album. A cover that is able to visually represent the album. We firmly believe that we have achieved that with the new cover and the general designs (including CD, CDL, LP and CD box) represent nothing less."

"Universal" track listing:

01. Havoc
02. Reason
03. The Stir of Seasons
04. For a Thousand Years to Come
05. Abrasion Tide
06. Fleshflower
07. Worldwide
08. My Domain (feat. guest vocals by I.C.S Vortex)

"Universal" was recorded and mixed at Toproom Studio in Lunner, Norway, with the bandmembers themselves handling the production duties.

Commented BORKNAGAR mainman Øystein G. Brun: "We are extremely satisfied with the result! The album turned out even better than we dared to hope for when starting this journey. There is an attitude, energy and nerve to this record that will appeal to the most primal side of man, yet there is complexity and atmosphere that will challenge the most sophisticated parts of mind. The album contains all the elements that made BORKNAGAR the band we are and we firmly believe that this album will be a huge piece of candy for those who have followed the band through the years. This is by far the most complete album we have done to date — musically and production-wise — and we are right now just immensely eager to get the album out there!"

Regarding the album title, Brun said, "'Universal' is the title that shines through and mirrors the essence of the album. 'Universal' is a title that is broad enough and huge enough to project the giant character of this album, both musically and lyrically."

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email