Botswana's SKINFLINT To Release Fifth Album This Week

May 29, 2018

For many rock listeners, Gaborone, Botswana is not the first location one thinks of when it comes to the hometown of many heavy metal bands. But since 2006, the three-piece SKINFLINT has been making its hometown located in Southern Africa proud. On June 1, the group will issue its fifth, self-titled full-length release overall via INTO Records (distributed by Cargo Records),and as heard by such standout cuts as "Eyes In A Leopard's Spots" and "Birds And Milk, Bloody Milk", SKINFLINT continues to build on the promise of its previous albums.

"We feel that this album is the culmination of our style of African metal," explains the band.

"The album was named 'Skinflint' as we feel that the music here best showcases our artistic vision and what SKINFLINT stands for.

"We chose 'Birds And Milk, Bloody Milk' as the first single of the album due to its distinctive style and Kwasa Kwasa influences, which has never been explored in the realms rock/metal music before. For the video, we included Kwasa Kwasa dancers and shot it in two days at a village called Mokatse, in Botswana.

"Making this album was a challenging experience even though, strangely, we wrote the majority of the songs in about a week. We allowed the compositions to happen organically and as a result we uncovered a new mystical, dimension to our style of music.

"The album is not overproduced and retains the raw energy and passion of a band live in the studio.

"The video for 'Birds And Milk, Bloody Milk' was quite fun to shoot, as we have never featured dancers in any of our videos."

Comprised of guitarist/vocalist Giuseppe Sbrana, bassist Kebonye Nkoloso and drummer Alessandra Sbrana, SKINFLINT puts a unique spin on heavy music by incorporating elements from African culture with metal music, and in the process has attracted the attention of such international media outlets as CNN, Dutch TV, Swedish national television, BBC and many more. Their earlier releases, "Iklwa", "Gauna", "Dipoko Nyemba" and "Chief Of The Ghosts", pay homage to African spirituality and mythology, while still playing in the vein of traditional heavy metal, and have been credited as a pioneering example of African metal.

So far, SKINFLINT has played shows in Southern Africa, Kenya and enjoyed successful tours as far as Sweden and throughout Europe with TARJA.

"Skinflint" track listing:

01. Eyes In A Leopards Spots
02. Birds And Milk, Bloody Milk
03. The Prophecy Of Nongqawuse
04. Chiruwi
05. The Hyena Sorcerer
06. Thorns Of Fire
07. The Swallowing Monster
08. Tuyewera
09. Mathoa
10. Tokoloshe

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).