August 9, 2007

Metal Blade Records has announced the signing of Oregon/California death metal band BRAIN DRILL.

BRAIN DRILL was formed in the summer of 2005 by Dylan Ruskin (guitars),whose next goal was to find a drummer that could actually play death metal and not just claim they could. Dylan ended up recruiting drummer Marco Pitruzzella, former drummer of VITAL REMAINS, VILE, VORNAGAR, ATROCIOUS HYSTERIA, NUMA, and a few other extreme metal bands. After a few months of jamming Steve Rathjen was then later put onto vocals. Rounding out the band is Jeff Hughell on bass who joined the band in the winter of 2006. With mind-blowing style and speed, inventing a 10-fingered tapping technique using a seven-string bass, and the song-learning capabilities of a genius it was quite obvious he was a perfect fit into this now four-piece arsenal.

As of now, BRAIN DRILL has shared the stage with bands such as CANNIBAL CORPSE, DYING FETUS, NECROPHAGIST, JOB FOR A COWBOY, UNMERCIFUL, ALL SHALL PERISH, DECREPIT BIRTH, and very many other extreme metal bands. In addition BRAIN DRILL has come in at No. 8 in the Top 10 MySpace grindcore band charts in the world and has also come in at number 11 in the top 20 MySpace death metal charts in the world.

Commented the band: "We are blown away to be able to put out our first album ever on Metal Blade Records, with labelmates like CANNIBAL CORPSE, JOB FOR A COWBOY, HATE ETERNAL and CATTLE DECAPITATION, and a history of working with bands like SLAYER and METALLICA. We are ready to make Brian Slagel and everybody at Metal Blade proud. Witness the brutality!!"

Jen Graham of Metal Blade Records stated, "Alex Webster of CANNIBAL CORPSE came to us and told us we had to check out this band BRAIN DRILL that they had played with at a stop on their most recent tour. As soon as I got to the second song on the EP, I knew this was a band we had to have on our roster. They are amazing, full-on, crazy, fast as hell death metal (think SPAWN OF POSSESSION, CRYPTOPSY and VOMITORY all rolled into one). Welcome to the family, guys!"


Dylan Ruskin - Guitar
Lord Marco Pitruzzella - Drums
Steve Rathjen - Vocals
Jeff Hughell - Bass

For more information, visit

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email