BUCKCHERRY Side Project SPRAYGUN WAR Is Working On Full-Length Album

August 11, 2016

SPRAYGUN WAR, the new project featuring BUCKCHERRY singer Josh Todd and guitarist Stevie D., is working on a full-length album to follow the band's recently released debut EP.

Issued on June 10, "Into The Blackness" was described in a press release as a departure from BUCKCHERRY's sound, featuring strong electronic and hip-hop elements.

During an August 8 appearance on the SiriusXM satellite radio show "Eddie Trunk Live", Todd explained how SPRAYGUN WAR came together. "Stevie and I have a long relationship," he said. "We knew each other way before BUCKCHERRY was even started. He was one of the first guys I met when I moved to Hollywood, and we worked together, and then we were roommates. So we've been friends for a long, long time, and we've always had a passion for electronic music.

"I got to write with [DJ] Muggs from CYPRESS HILL after [BUCKCHERRY's] 'Time Bomb' [2001] record; we did a few collaborations, and two of them made it on to his solo record 'Dust', and I really got a taste of it back then."

He continued: "I was just walking through a parking lot one day out on the road — Stevie and I hang out a lot on our days off — and I was just, like, 'Man, I need somebody to make me beats. I need to find a beatmaker, and all the beatmakers are giving their stuff to these young pop stars, and I want some cool beats that I can work on.' And I'd kind of fallen out of touch with Muggs. So Stevie was, like, 'I can make beats.' And I go, 'Okay. Make me a beat.' And then we just started writing. And the first song was 'Turn Out The Lights' that we wrote, which is on the EP, and after that song, we were just off to the races; we were just really enjoying it."

SPRAYGUN WAR has only played one show so far — on June 9 as part of a release party for "Into The Blackness" at Forgotten Saints in West Hollywood, California — but there are already plans for more dates in 2017. "[The EP release] was just a little show," Todd said. "We only had the EP of songs, and we only got to rehearse once. We're gonna be doing ShipRocked, and so we're gonna do a show on ShipRocked in January, and we already have three more songs, and by then we'll have a few more, and it'll be a nice set. And we're gonna have fun."

"Into The Blackness" track listing:

01. OMG
02. Booty Big And Wide
03. Turn Out The Lights
04. El Sicario
05. Fury

Todd recently told Australia's Rolling Stone that BUCKCHERRY is working on an EP to follow last year's "Rock 'N' Roll" album.


Find more on Buckcherry
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).