CAINA Completes Work On New Album

July 14, 2008

Eclectic UK phenomenon CAINA, comprised of mastermind Andrew Curtis-Brignell, has completed work on its new full-length LP for Profound Lore Records.

Entitled "Temporary Antennae", the new album sees Curtis-Brignell stretch his musical oeuvre to new unheard levels culminating in a maturity which presents more depth and substance to the unique sound he conjured by combining the likes of raw black metal, 4AD post-rock, and folk/singer-songwriter music. Building upon the promise that was evident with last year's "Mourner" release, "Temporary Antennae" goes much beyond the foundation laid down by "Mourner" (and the "Some People Fall" debut) in a musical and lyrical sense.

In addition to being the best CAINA album to date, "Temporary Antennae" is also Andrew's most intense and oppressive-sounding so far while at the same time being the most pop-oriented CA?NA album yet as new influences from '80s new wave also make their way into the sound picture of "Temporary Antennae" alongside those that combine the traits of raw black metal and post-rock.

Due on September 30, "Temporary Antennae" will feature the following track listing:

01. Intro – Manuscript Found In Unmarked Grave, 1918
02. Ten Went Up River
03. Willows And Whippoorwills
04. Tobacco Beetle
05. Larval Door
06. …And Ivy Wound Round Him
07. Them Golds And Brass
08. Petals And Bloodbowls
09. Temporary Antennae
10. None Shall Die

You can check out an MP3 of the track "Willows And Whippoorwills" at this location.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).