December 18, 2006

CAMP FREDDY — the Los Angeles-based "jam" group featuring guitarists Dave Navarro (ex-JANE'S ADDICTION, RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS) and Billy Morrison (ex-THE CULT bassist, current CIRCUS DIABLO vocalist) alongside VELVET REVOLVER members Matt Sorum (drums) and Scott Weiland (vocals) — will perform a New Year's Eve show in Las Vegas without Navarro, who will be unable to take part as a result of having already accepted another engagement in Vegas, according to Morrison. "But we WILL be bringing FREDDY regular, Mr. Jerry Cantrell [ALICE IN CHAINS], along with Chester Bennington [LINKIN PARK], to augment the line up for a few songs," Billy added. "Who knows who will be in the house that night — so don't discount anything from happening!!"

To coincide with the iTunes release of CAMP FREDDY's cover of SLADE's "Merry Christmas Everybody", the band shot a video for the song at the December 7, 2006 charity show at The Avalon Theater in Hollywood, California. Watch it online at this location. "The song features Scott and Donovan [Leitch, son of 1960s U.K. folk-rock icon Donovan] sharing the vocals in the verses, and the whole band on the choruses!!" Morrison writes on his web site. "It was loads of fun to record, and was always one of the best Christmas songs when I was a kid. I'm glad we decided to record it, and very glad that we managed to get it out and online as quickly as we did."

CAMP FREDDY performed its cover of the CHEAP TRICK classic "Surrender" on NBC-TV's "The Tonight Show with Jay Leno" on October 5. This was the band's first television appearance since "The Showbiz Show with David Spade" on Comedy Central in late June.

CAMP FREDDY's cover of "Surrender" was selected as the lead single from the movie soundtrack "Employee of the Month". The song features the core CAMP FREDDY lineup of Dave Navarro, Billy Morrison, Matt Sorum and Scott Weiland, Donovan Leitch (vocals) and Chris Chaney (bass),and was recorded at Sorum's Drac Studios in Los Angeles.

CAMP FREDDY has been in and out of the recording studio over the past couple of years recording what is expected to eventually be released as the band's debut album. Among the cuts that are set to appear on the effort are "20th Century Boy" (also featuring Steve Jones from THE SEX PISTOLS on lead guitar) and THIN LIZZY's "Jailbreak" (featuring ALICE IN CHAINS guitarist Jerry Cantrell on vocals and Billy Duffy [ex-THE CULT] on lead guitar). Other guest musicians include RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS drummer Chad Smith and singer Macy Gray.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email