CANDLEMASS Destroy Stockholm!

December 20, 2001

The reunited classic line-up of CANDLEMASS—vocalist Messiah Marcolin, bassist/founder Leif Edling, guitarist Mats Björkman, lead guitarist Lars Johansson and drummer Jan Lindh—performed a six-song set at the Christmas bash, dubbed Black Lucia, of Sweden's premiere metal magazine, Close-Up, at Wildside (Daily's) in Stockholm, Sweden on Thursday, December 13th. The event also served as a release party for the band, whose albums Nightfall, Ancient Dreams and Tales Of Creation were re-issued through the Swedish label GMR earlier this month. CANDLEMASS' set for the evening consisted of the following cuts:

01. Well of Souls
02. Mirror Mirror
03. Samarithan
04. At The Gallows End
05. Solitude
06. Crystal Ball

As exclusively reported here on November 15th, CANDLEMASS have officially been confirmed for next year's installment of the Sweden Rock Festival, which is scheduled to take place on June 7-8, 2002 in Sölvesborg, Sweden. Also in the works are possible appearances at several European festivals next year, beginning with Sweden Rock and possibly culminating in a few others, including Germany's Wacken Festival, which is scheduled to take place on August 2-3, 2002. Although at the moment there are no official plans for the reunited group to record a studio album together, sources have confirmed to BLABBERMOUTH.NET that the feeling within the reformed band is so positive at the moment that it is very likely that a new studio CD will follow at some point in the future, possibly as early as 2003. Also in the works is said to be a live CD made at the upcoming festival appearances and a DVD release, featuring footage shot at the aforementioned festivals, as well as live footage from the record release party and the rehearsals leading up to the reunited band's first public performances in a decade.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).