CIRRHA NIVA Announces New Drummer

June 17, 2010

Dutch progressive metallers CIRRHA NIVA have announced the addition of drummer Wiebe Slim (ex-MELORA RAIN) to the group's ranks.

Commented the band: "We already did one show with Wiebe while supporting THE 11TH HOUR, but at that time he was just doin' us a favour. Needless to say that there was a perfect match that day, which resulted in the fact that Wiebe joined the band.

"Wiebe will introduce himself further on this week, but let's reveal something already right now.

"As a drummer he is influenced by Virgil Donati, Thomas Lang, Marco Minneman, Dave Weckl, Steve Smith, Benny Greb, Gavin Harrison, Mike Portnoy and many more. So it's obvious he likes PLANET X, DREAM THEATER, PORCUPINE TREE and SYMPHONY X."

Drummer Tommy White recently left CIRRHA NIVA due to health problems. He said in a statement, "Eight months ago, the feeling in my hands started to disappear and slowly began to cause me problems while playing. In the months after it only got worse and I went from one doctor to another, but they could not find the problem. It became clear to me that the live concerts were in jeopardy as at one point I could not guarantee that I could play a full show."

CIRRHA NIVA's latest album, "For Moments Never Done", was released last September through the band's own independent record label Parnassus Records. The distribution of the album was handled by Suburban in the Benelux and The End Records in the USA/Canada.

"For Moments Never Done" was CIRRHA NIVA's first release with new vocalist Legrand and the group's first CD since the 2001 rock opera "Liaison De La Morte". The band has put aside its earlier theatrical and gothic influences in order to develop a more modern style and sound. According to a press release, "raw melancholic metal riffs, groovy drums and dark grunts will be enlightened with the powerful clean sometimes almost poppy and soulful, lead vocals of Legrand."

"For Moments Never Done" was produced by Jochem Jacobs and Bouke Visser at Split Second Sound Studio (TEXTURES, AUTUMN, STREAM OF PASSION) and Excess Recording Studio (AYREON, AFTER FOREVER, GOREFEST). It features seven songs with a total running time of approximately 47 minutes.

The CD features guest appearances by the following musicians:

Manda Ophuis (NEMESEA)
Joost van den Broek (AFTER FOREVER)
Yuval Kramer (AMASEFFER)
Robin de Groot (CHIRAW)
Bouke Visser

For more information, visit

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).