Classic Rock Greats THE GUESS WHO Return With 'The Future Is What It Used To Be'

July 18, 2018

THE GUESS WHO is responsible for countless rock classics, which still retain a major presence on rock radio — "American Woman", "No Time", "These Eyes", etc. The band is set to return on September 14 with its latest album, "The Future Is What It Used To Be", released via Cleopatra Records (available in CD, vinyl, and digital formats).

The band is Garry Peterson (drums, vocals),D# (lead vocals, guitar, piano),Will E. (guitar, harp, vocals),Leonard Shaw (keyboards, flute, sax, vocals),and Rudy Sarzo (bass, vocals). The album's first single, "Playin' On The Radio", can be heard on Spotify, Apple Music and other streaming services. Also featured on the album are several special guests, including Tommy Shaw (STYX) on vocals, Brent Fitz (SLASH, GENE SIMMONS) on percussion, Jim Kale (THE GUESS WHO founding member) and Michael Devin (WHITESNAKE) on bass.

"The song is a celebration of the radio and what it meant to us all," explains D#. "Whenever a new great song hit the airwaves, the DJ would say a few words then off to the races! You'd tune in just to hear it over and over again. The character in the song could be any one of us as we move ahead in life. Great music has the innate power to transport you back to so many great memories in an instant. Music is healing. I see it and feel it every single night in our audience."

A music video for the track has been filmed — directed by Nigel Dick and shot in Las Vegas — and the song can be pre-ordered on iTunes. The video can be viewed below.

"I love what I do, and I love trains and I love rock n' roll," explains Nigel about the video. "So, I was honored to be asked to shoot THE GUESS WHO. And when they told me they were available for a day in Vegas and by chance I stumbled on this wonderful railyard full of old engines just up the road from the strip, I was in heaven — and up to my axles in dust! It was a perfect day."

And the band is pleased with the results. "My very first music video…who knew?!" says Garry. "Having the privilege of working with the legendary Nigel Dick, took me back to growing up in an era where music videos told a creative visual story that I always looked forward to seeing by my favorite artists," adds Will. "This track was no exception, adding a colorful, action packed sequence to a great story."

Garry Peterson: "I never dreamed that I would get a chance to record an album, after 40 years, in the same way, and with the same recording gear that we used in the '60s and '70s. This was truly a blessing for me and a humbling, cathartic experience for my musical soul. Thank you to all my bandmates, and everyone who helped make it a reality. I hope our fans enjoy it as much as I do."

D#: "This all started when I wrote 'Playing On The Radio'. Lyrically and musically, these songs are the soundtrack to my journey with THE GUESS WHO over the last 10 years. This record was a joy and an honor to create. As version 3.0 of this iconic band, we had our work cut out for us. The challenge in this type of situation is always to be true to the heartroots of the original blueprint, as well as being able to journey onwards into an inspired future, incorporating the new energies that we bring to the experience, as you do in any family, generation after generation. I hope you enjoy the ride as much as we did."

Will E: "I am honored to be a part of this chapter of THE GUESS WHO. We specifically wrote and arranged the music to reflect what people have always loved about the band; great songs with big vocal driven choruses. We accomplished our own sound while maintaining the classic nature that makes THE GUESS WHO an iconic band."

Rudy Sarzo: "THE GUESS WHO is part of the soundtrack of my life. It's truly an honor to have performed on the new record. And I'm already looking forward to the next one."

Leonard Shaw: "It has been quite the trip since I joined the GUESS WHO 25 years ago, but I am stoked about our new recording of original songs! These songs are fun to play live, and people are digging them!"

"The Future Is What It Used To Be" track listing:

01. When We Were Young
02. Runnin' Blind
03. Talks All The Time
04. Baby Come Around
05. Haunted
06. In America
07. Playin' On The Radio
08. Give It A Try
09. Good Girl
10. Long Day

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).