CLUTCH's 'Strange Cousins' Cracks U.S. Top 40

"Strange Cousins From the West", the ninth studio album from Maryland rockers CLUTCH, sold 13,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 38 on The Billboard 200 chart.

The band's previous studio CD, "From Beale Street To Oblivion", opened with around 15,000 units back in April 2007 to land at No. 52.

CLUTCH's 2005 effort, "Robot Hive / Exodus", entered the chart at No. 93 after premiering with 13,000 copies.

"Strange Cousins From the West" was made available both digitally and through retail on July 14. Produced by CLUTCH and J. Robbins at Magpie Cage Studios in Baltimore, the effort is the first CLUTCH studio LP to be released on the band's own Weathermaker Music, through RED Distribution.

"Strange Cousins From the West" includes the POPPO'S BLUES BAND cover song "Algo Ha Cambiado", which Neil Fallon sings in Spanish. Poppo was a legendary Argentinian hard rock singer/guitarist throughout the '70s and '80s.

The title "Strange Cousins From the West" was taken from a line in the song "Minotaur".

Although CLUTCH has toured the world extensively over the past two years and released multiple CLUTCH-related projects, "Strange Cousins..." is the band's first original studio work since 2007's "From Beale Street to Oblivion" which featured the hit "Electric Worry".

"Strange Cousins From the West" track listing:

01. Motherless Child
02. Struck Down
03. 50,000 Unstoppable Watts
04. Abraham Lincoln
05. Minotaur
06. The Amazing Kreskin
07. Witchdoctor
08. Let a Poor Man Be
09. Freakonomics
10. Algo Ha Cambiado
11. Sleestak Lightning

A new widget featuring behind-the-scenes footage from the recording sessions for "Strange Cousins From the West" is available at this location.

"50,000 Unstoppable Watts", the new video from CLUTCH, can be viewed below.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).