COSMOSQUAD Getting Ready To Drop 'Acid Test'

April 16, 2007

Los Angeles, CA-based metallic fusioneers COSMOSQUAD have finished recording and mixing their latest album, titled "Acid Test". Co-produced by drummer Shane Gaalaas (B'Z, DIESEL MACHINE, GLENN HUGHES) and guitarist Jeff Kollman (GLENN HUGHES, MOGG/WAY, $IGN OF 4) at Crumb West Studios in Simi Valley, CA between February and April, "Acid Test" marks the group's first studio effort since 2001's highly acclaimed "Squadrophenia", released on Marmaduke in North America and Mascot and Zain/Big M.F. in Europe and Japan, respectively.

"I'm really stoked to have this new record coming out — it's been way too long!" enthuses Gaalaas. "It seems that everything came together very naturally and it was a lot of fun to collaborate with Jeff again. I think we take the listener on quite the journey throughout 'Acid Test'. Epic songs with lots of movement, heaviness, some greasiness, and an amazing ballad from Kollman that really sets him apart from other guitar players. The playing is certainly elevated a notch but we still retain the classic 'SQUAD vibe — the stuff that made us famous, ha ha!"

Missing from the latest COSMOSQUAD endeavor is longtime bassist Barry Sparks (TED NUGENT, MSG, ULI ROTH) who played on the band's first three records. "We tried our best to get Barry to put down some tracks for 'Acid Test' but with him living out of town and being the road warrior that he is we just couldn't line it up scheduling-wise this time," explains Gaalaas. "But, we'd been doing live gigs with a revolving cast of bass players anyway so once we started recording we spread the tunes around and everybody came through with some great playing. So it all worked out well in the end."

Sharing bass duties on "Acid Test" are Jeff Kollman's old EDWIN DARE bandmate Kevin Chown (ARTENSION, TONY MACALPINE, UNCLE CRACKER),Christopher Maloney (Z, $IGN OF 4, HARDLINE),Paul Shinadeh (SCOTT HENDERSON, SCOTT KINSEY),and newcomer Albert Zilboon; keyboards are supplied by Ed Roth (IMPELLITTERI, GLENN HUGHES, FATES WARNING) who plays on five cuts, and noted composer Jono Brown, co-author with Kollman on the recent Garmin GSP Superbowl commercial that featured U.K. vocalist Steve Grimmett (ex-GRIM REAPER).

"Acid Test" track listing:

01. NuMena
02. The Spy Who 8 Her
03. Lubitorium
04. Bedbucket
05. Goathead
06. Hindenberg
07. The Long Walk Goodbye
08. Swink
09. Grossalicious

COSMOSQUAD will be debuting several songs off "Acid Test" at their upcoming Baked Potato (3787 W. Cahuenga Blvd., Universal City, CA) show this Friday, April 20; Kollman and Gaalaas are joined by bassist Christopher Maloney for the occasion. Also on the live front, Jeff Kollman will be playing two exclusive U.S. headline shows with Glenn Hughes (DEEP PURPLE, TRAPEZE) June 2 at the Whisky A Go Go, Hollywood CA, and June 4 at BB King Blues Club & Grill in New York City, respectively. The duo will be joined by RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS drummer Chad Smith and Ed Roth on keyboards.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).